You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 4th, 2023, 10:29 AM   #1
stu
Member
England

stu is offline
 
stu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: England
Posts: 748
Recipe data from a compactlogix to kepware

Hi all
I hope youre all well .
We have got kepware software and I need to Get some data from a machine on a flour and liquid weighing system.

What I was thinking is getting all the weight data , setpoint , actual , max and min data ect
All this data is in the plc , if I wanted to get this data into kepware is it best practice to have a udt and create its own opc tags retrieve the data ?

Also another thought with kepware and compactlogix,
If I want to get a bit of data say a running recipe data , what would be the best way to do this
Thanks stu
  Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2023, 05:28 PM   #2
TheWaterboy
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

TheWaterboy is offline
 
TheWaterboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: State of Denial
Posts: 1,592
What is the final system you want to receive the data? Your question is a little too vague.
Kepware can get everything out of the CompactLogix easily, but where is it going?
__________________
. . . Things are getting weird, and they're getting weird fast . . .
  Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2023, 04:50 AM   #3
stu
Member
England

stu is offline
 
stu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: England
Posts: 748
Sorry for being vague
The kepwareex suite is what the company have brought if this helps
The overall goal is that we want the recipe running data for the ControlLogix to kepware and then use pi vision software im sure this will be a opc connection .
For example when all the ingredients is in the mixer and final stage has finished mixing we send the data ?
I think I’m Siemens you need a opc license , add the tags to a separate opc database
What’s the right way in ControlLogix to duplicate data - would you create a separate database (opc tag data base )

This is just information and knowledge gathering before I start my first data extraction
  Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2023, 06:14 AM   #4
parky
Member
United Kingdom

parky is offline
 
parky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Midlands
Posts: 4,930
Kepware can log data to most DB's directly, if I remember correctly you can create triggers to log the data to say an SQL database. These triggers could be from the PLC's I don't have kepware with me at the moment but it is quite simple to setup. Not sure if it requires an extra license but will certainly run for 2 hours for trials.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2023, 07:00 AM   #5
stu
Member
England

stu is offline
 
stu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: England
Posts: 748
Sorry for being vague
The kepwareex suite is what the company have brought if this helps
The overall goal is that we want the recipe running data for the ControlLogix to kepware and then use pi vision software im sure this will be a opc connection .
For example when all the ingredients is in the mixer and final stage has finished mixing we send the data ?
I think I’m Siemens you need a opc license , add the tags to a separate opc database
What’s the right way in ControlLogix to duplicate data - would you create a separate database (opc tag data base )

This is just information and knowledge gathering before I start my first data extraction
  Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2023, 07:18 AM   #6
parky
Member
United Kingdom

parky is offline
 
parky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Midlands
Posts: 4,930
I cannot remember the license criteria, but if you purchased the Siemens suite it may contain the database logging I'm not sure on that one, perhaps ask I did look into it a few years ago but never had the chance to put it into operation, however, I did try it, I created a local DB using SQL Express and populated it using kepware this was to use on a range of Mitsubishi PLC's we already had a version running on the same plant but did not want to delve into that for the trials, it was already logging data to our main SQL servers but that was via IFIX Scada & I believe the original version of kepware in use was quite old & did not have the DB logging feature.
Ah... Just looked into it & it appears the data logging is optional at $602.0 per year or a perpetual licence for $1,798.0 so quite expensive.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New CL5380 Controller with New I/O mapping question dev67 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 January 17th, 2019 03:38 PM
Loading .Pre in an array of timers? dginbuffalo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 24 March 11th, 2016 06:44 PM
Messaging over Ethernet between MicroLogix1500/NET-ENI and CompactLogix davidwarrenabaxis LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 January 25th, 2016 12:23 PM
Recipe data from SAP xzen LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 August 13th, 2010 08:03 AM
Help with Profibus CPU315-2 DP Rafael Guedes LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 September 3rd, 2007 07:44 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:01 PM.


.