Automated Parking System Using OMRON PLC and HMI

Hey guys !

I am new to this forum. So, I hope you guys don't mind my noobiness :p . I am working on my Final Year Project which aims to design and develop a automated parking system using PLC. I am fairly new to PLC Ladder logic programming. Are there any good tutorials for CX programmer ?

Omron sysmac CP1L-M40DR-A has 24VDC Input/Output ports . I have IR-sensors which are the input to my PLC. They need to be supplied with 5V DC . How do I do this ?

Also, for my output, I have two motors which control a lift system. The motors are 15V DC rated and my output from PLC is actually 24VDC. How do I control the motor ?

They need to be supplied with 5V DC . How do I do this ?
Buy or borrow a 5 volt DC power supply. Unless your sensors are rated for a 24 VDC output, they may not work even with the correct supply voltage.

The motors are 15V DC rated and my output from PLC is actually 24VDC. How do I control the motor ?
Very carefully! There are very few motors* that are small enough to be powered directly from a PLC output. You may need a 15 VDC power supply for the motors, and a 24 VDC relay (controlled by a PLC output) to switch 15 volts to your motors.

* I have seen some toy motors, model car motors, and clock motors that could be driven directly by a 24 VDC PLC output.

Last edited:
Hey guys !

I have IR-sensors which are the input to my PLC. They need to be supplied with 5V DC . How do I do this ?
As Lancie has already inferred, the 5VDC sensors will not be able to drive an input. Are these sensors required for the project, or does the possibility exist that you can use something else? Or, will you need to build an interface between the sensors and the PLC?

Also, for my output, I have two motors which control a lift system. The motors are 15V DC rated and my output from PLC is actually 24VDC. How do I control the motor ?