You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread October 9th, 2019, 03:42 PM   #16
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,904
You should have been able to select v26 from the drop-down menu and have the project converted to v26, then open up in Studio 5000 Logix Designer.

The fact that it did not do so is probably linked to your failed installation attempts.

If you ZIP and post the project here, folks might be able to convert it to v26 and get you over that hump.
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 9th, 2019, 04:32 PM   #17
Secpcb
Member
United States

Secpcb is offline
 
Secpcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Romulus, Michigan
Posts: 105
Ken,


Thanks. I appreciate that very much.


I can open Studio5000 v26, but it reverts to RSLogix5000 v020.04 when I open it. In 20.04 controller properties I can select ver 26, it does show as an option, but won't take it.


Unfortunately the Zip file is too big, so I put it here, that this forum seems to like a lot.
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 9th, 2019, 05:22 PM   #18
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,904
I don't have v26 installed, so I took a shot and converted to v24. If you have a Studio 5000 installation that will open and run at all, it should open this and recommend that you convert it to v26.

When you do a change of controller from the RSLogix 5000 era (v20 and before) to the Studio 5000 era (v21 and after), the software should accept your change of controller Version then appear to not respond for about a minute. It will automatically close RSLogix 5000 and open Studio 5000 Logix Designer, presenting a "Converting Project" progress box.

I also took the liberty of moving each of your Programs into the Continuous Task. This is more like the Main Control Program (MCP) method of program execution scheduling used by the PLC-5 controller.

Executing a bunch of EVENT tasks from the Main Program in the Continuous Task is going to create a mess of overlapping tasks with competing priorities. It's almost certainly better (and far more conventional) to simply make separate Programs that execute in order (top to bottom in the Controller Organizer) in the Continuous Task.

I also noted that your project shows an ancient 1756-ENET/B module. These have been obsolete since the mid-2000's so unless you absolutely have to use it, I recommend a modern 1756-ENBT or 1756-EN2T.

I sent you a link to a DropBox copy of the file directly in your private messages.
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 9th, 2019, 07:35 PM   #19
Secpcb
Member
United States

Secpcb is offline
 
Secpcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Romulus, Michigan
Posts: 105
Ken,

Thanks. I got the file. And Studio 5000 v26 does open for me.



I did think about all those event tasks and wonder why they converted that way, but figured the Rockwell engineer that wrote the converter to do that must have known more than I do.


I also installed ver26 on my home computer and got the same result when trying to change (EDIT: the original file) to v26


As for the ENET module, I just guessed and picked one, I have yet to get the actual module number from the rack in use yet.
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 10th, 2019, 06:52 AM   #20
Secpcb
Member
United States

Secpcb is offline
 
Secpcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Romulus, Michigan
Posts: 105
Ken,

I just check on the line and the Etherent card is 1756-ENBT /A. I don't know the revision number, but with A I am guessing 1, if I have to change it later I will.
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 10th, 2019, 11:22 AM   #21
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,904
I didn't realize that the EVENT structure came from the conversion tool ! Learn something new every day, I guess.

In the PLC-5 era, I only once did a project where I used multiple Main Control Programs, which ran in sequence, designated "A" through "P".

Check out your original PLC-5 program to see if it used multiple MCPs, or if it went with the more common method of allowing MCP "A" to run Program File 2, and then the user program used JSR instructions to jump to subroutines, usually every scan. Often a PLC-5 program's File 2 contained only a handful of utility logic like "No Faults" or "One Second Flasher" and then a set of JSR rungs.

The 1756-ENBT module is the second-generation Ethernet module for the ControlLogix family, perfectly capable and appropriate for I/O and HMI/editing access to the controller. The current firmware revision is 6.006, but you can just enter whatever the highest version that's in the drop-down list when you create the module.

I don't think the 1756-ENBT ever had anything but Series A hardware.
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 10th, 2019, 12:01 PM   #22
Secpcb
Member
United States

Secpcb is offline
 
Secpcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Romulus, Michigan
Posts: 105
The PLC is set for all MCP programs, with all but the fault routine set to Skip IO Update

I searched and there are no JSR, JMP or SBR's in the project.

EDIT:
And, forgot to mention, when I checked the Ethernet card I noticed it was a 4 slot rack, not 7 that I setup originally.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture2.JPG (52.9 KB, 28 views)

Last edited by Secpcb; October 10th, 2019 at 12:44 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 10th, 2019, 05:11 PM   #23
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,904
Neat ! Thanks for sharing that information.

I wouldn't bother with the output processing disable function. When you didn't check those boxes in the PLC-5, the controller would scan inputs, run one MCP program, write outputs, then do the same cycle for another MCP. In your example you could have scanned the I/O six times before you got around to the first MCP again. Instead it scanned the inputs, ran all the MCPs in sequence, then wrote the outputs.

ControlLogix I/O is asynchronous to the program scan, so you have to think about it differently anyhow.

Disabling output processing saves you a millisecond or two when you have a Task that doesn't actually write to any Output tags.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CLX MSG to PLC5 over serial - octal or decimal and more :) TheWaterboy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 September 26th, 2018 04:30 PM
PLC5 using CLX rack via 1756-RIO averellen LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 February 4th, 2013 01:27 PM
Getting data from PLC5 to CLX - RIO, DH+, Ethernet ???? wildswing LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 November 14th, 2011 12:19 PM
PLC5 to CLX conversion problems/question Adam83 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 May 12th, 2010 10:01 AM
CLX to PLC5 Alan Case LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 22 December 29th, 2006 10:33 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 AM.


.