Micro820 aka disaster

HawkEye87

Hi guys

I am new to the threads and relatively new to the world of PLC programming.

During a recent programming session, I was using the Micro820 in DHCP mode when I blindly tried to configure a static IP address. In doing so and while connected, I managed to remove all IP address settings from the controller and now I can not connect, the ENET light is not showing any signs of life when I plug in (it should show green even without config) and windows diagnostics is telling me that my device does not have IP config.

While connected through DHCP, I changed my computers adapter settings to suit the 169.254.xxx.xxx address, then I changed the DHCP setting on CCW controller options while also unchecking the Port settings Disable button.

I have read that I can communicate with the controller through USB, but the recommended route is to use the LCD add-on.

Can somebody tell me if there is another way to connect directly through the comms port. Thanks!!

Thanks Tarik1978

But I have previously used this controller with know problems and I understand the connection process, somewhat.

Now I am looking at a re-config through RS232 DF1

I really do not understand why the controller is giving this problem

Thanks for the reply

Welcome to the PLCTalk forum community !

Generally I set up my computer for a static IP address first, then use DHCP to get an address into the controller temporarily. As you've seen, leaving your computer in DHCP mode and allowing it to fall back to an automatic private IP address (the 169.254.x.x) can leave you chasing your tail.

I independently went searching for the Wilborne video on YouTube because it's so instructional.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cdpkNAhnmCQ

But it's probably easiest to set that aside.

If you have genuinely disabled the controller's Ethernet port (I did not realize that was possible) then the best way to get it reset is to connect to the RS-232 port.