Data Display Software Question

markzb

Hi everyone and greetings. I am an absolute newbie to the world of PLC's...one which I find absolutely fascinating!

I have a software question, and I hope some of you may be able to share with me some pointers on what to look for.

My question is, if we have a PLC that has a RS 232 socket and supports data communication, is there any software available that enables a PLC connected to a serial port of a windows based PC to design and configure screens that will enable us to display the data from the PLC ( i.e. from sensors) in various formats ( meters, graphs)?

In all honesty, I don't know what "family" or "type" of software I need to search for! Apologies if this question has been asked before.

Hope you might have some suggestions on what I could try out.

Regards

Mark Baharom

Last edited:
What your asking for is an Operator Interface. The PC is one of many choices for hardware.

1) HMI (Human Machine Interface). An HMI uses a single board/touch screen (486, Pentum, etc.) platform, and runs a built-in software package to communicate with PLC's. You use a Windows software package to program it to display whatever you want, including charts and graphs. You pick items from a list. Limited customization. By picking and choosing 'canned routines', you're able to put together a system quickly. No need to build graphics and associated I/O. It's all done for you. For a graph, give it the PLC addresses, range, pen color, and maybe a few other parameters, and your done.

2) HMI software for a PC. This does to same job, but now you have a choice of desktop+mouse or touchscreen, etc.

3) There is higher level software packages, usually for multiple PLC's. This has names similar to "Factory Floor". I'll let the experts expand on this.

Last edited:
Hi Keith

Thank you kindly for taking the time to reply. I think the answer you gave that helps me greatly is number #2!