Limiting remote access to network

basleigh

I am after some advice.
My employers plc network is seperate from the corporate IT network.
Our main plc system is AB ranging from ML/SLC/CL/Logix5000.
The factory has increased in size from a single plant to several
I have recently started to network previously non networked devices, putting in HP Procurve network switches.( my background is primarily electrical but starting to learn networking slowly, so be gentle).
To provide OEM's with remote access through the sepearte IT network & Firewall to plant ab network,the company is using **** as the preferred vehicle for the external remote access.
My issue is security of my plant network, a OEM who has **** access to his own panel,which is turn part of my plant network can then see all other slc/cl's in that ip range.
Is there a way to limit how far his remote access can see, for example if his project incorporates 2 plc's. and they are in series with a dedicated port on one of hp managed switches, can i stop his access into my domain past this port, but still allow full access from inside the plant network.
Look forward to any advice.
thanks

Well, yes there are ways.

The best way would be to isolate those machines from the rest of your process network. Since that's probably not ideal, You could re-ip everything on the OEM panels to a different range than the rest of your process gear and put it on its own VLAN. Use an ACL to block that VLAN from accessing any of your others as needed.

I assume you are using "e w o n" devices. Isn't there built-in functionality to allow access based on user? I would ask "e w o n" about that.

Thanks for your replies.
I dont think i can re ip as our centrally based disaster recovery software may not work,although i can look into that.