ControlLogix Add-On instruction input and output behaviour Question

I am new to AOIs, and do not have a processor handy to test my program. I have a couple of simple questions, which I have not been able to find an answer.

For Parameter type "Input", can this be modified within the AOI?
e.g. I have a start command from SCADA, which I want to set to 0 after it has been used at the end of the AOI. Is this possible?

For Parameter type "Output", do the outputs use the last value.
e.g. I set an output bit within the AOI. Will the fault bit remain set? If I clear the bit outside of the AOI, will the AOI see it as clear when next called, or will it turn back on?

These are probably simple questions to somebody with experience in AOIs, but it is far from intuitive, and the manuals certainly do not hint at an answer.

Some might say use InOut type. I was trying to avoid InOut, as I figure the AOI itself should serve as the perfect data structure. Why should I need to reproduce most of the structure as a UDT

I would very much appreciate help in clarifying this.
TIA.

Input and Output type parameters are passed by VALUE, that is, a copy of an input parameter is made, and used within the AOI, then discarded. Output parameters are set within an AOI, and only the resultant value is passed back to the placeholder in the calling block.

The only way to actually modify an input parameter, is to create it as an "InOut", in which case a pointer to the actual callers data is directly manipulated within the AOI.

Thanks for the reply rdrast. I am curious if you have actually tried it. You have not mentioned the Output behaviuor. Here are my assumptions, and why I would think maybe the AOI has direct access to all the data within the structure.

If the VALUE is the value within the AOI data structure, then I do not see why the AOI could not manipulate it.