Crimson 3.0 Emulator communication setup

lmhyd2013

Hi,

I am trying to setup communication between two Crimson 3.0 emulator on the network through Ethernet. I read it somewhere that the emulator works just as the real G3 Redlion device, so I thought it is great if I can communicate between the emulator and make a simple HMI where I can change a tag value in the other emulator window.

I have been able to set the emulator with a specific IP address in the network, but the problem I am facing now is how to link the tag in other emulator to the tag within my emulator?

I am new with PLC and HMI programming and don't really have the idea of setting the system. Reading the Crimson 3.0 tutorial doesn't really help.

Any help would be appreciated.

Regards,
L

Last edited:
Short of buying this:

EDIT: Link was okay:

http://www.redlion.net/Support/Downloads/SoftwareLibrary/OPCWorx.html

, you'd have to have a server and buy OPC Worx I think OPC Clients can't talk to each without a server on the network.

http://www.redlion.net/G3features/G3 Feature - OPClink.html

I think what you want to do will only be achievable if there are PLC tags they can exchange...the PLC tags may be in an emulated PLC they can both access and it should work, although I confess I have not tried this.

Last edited:
Thanks for your reply, OkiePC. I'll try that. I have just tried to connect the Emulator to a PLC and it worked, just need to figure out how to manage the HMI now.

As an alternative to OPC, you could use Modbus messaging between them as well. Setup one as a client, and one as a server. Assuming all the drivers work in the emulator... which wasn't the case in Crimson 2 but any driver I have tried with Crimson 3 works, so it's a good shot. Actually any pair of client/server or master/slave drivers should work. The Allen Bradley DF1 Master/Slave pair should work too, if you are more familiar with that type of protocol.