You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 19th, 2017, 05:47 AM   #1
Kataeb
Member
Lebanon

Kataeb is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: www.livelovelebanon.com
Posts: 360
flashing light to become continuous

is it possible to modify the below flashing light to become a continuous one ? has anyone done it before ?

8WD4220-0CB
SIGNALLING COLUMN SINGLE-FLASH LIGHT ELEMENT RED, AC/DC 24V


https://mall.industry.siemens.com/ma...oducts/8260009


https://support.industry.siemens.com...fn=ps&lc=en-QA
__________________

"character may be manifested in the great moments, but it is made in the small ones"
  Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2017, 06:57 AM   #2
sparkie
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

sparkie is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: KS
Posts: 598
Get a new lamp. You can get them cheap for automation direct.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2017, 07:40 AM   #3
mendonsy
Member
United States

mendonsy is offline
 
mendonsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Western NY
Posts: 676
Buy the non-flashing version. Siemens makes it both ways. If you want one that does both, it is simple enough to use the non-flash version and create a flashing output from your PLC.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2017, 08:33 AM   #4
Kataeb
Member
Lebanon

Kataeb is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: www.livelovelebanon.com
Posts: 360
the problem is that i already have them, and cannot take them back.
__________________

"character may be manifested in the great moments, but it is made in the small ones"
  Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2017, 10:50 AM   #5
jstolaruk
Member
United States

jstolaruk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit, SE Michigan
Posts: 2,960
You might trying "flashing" the output driving this lamp at a speed that is less than 1/2 its duty cycle. That assumes the lamp normally turns on when it first gets an excitation voltage and then begins its flash cycle after the initial time its been on. Your OFF time would be as short as you can get it to reset the lights flashing circuit.
__________________
"You can live to be a hundred if you give up all the things that make you want to live to be a hundred." Woody Allen

Last edited by jstolaruk; April 19th, 2017 at 10:52 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2017, 03:27 PM   #6
Aabeck
Member
United States

Aabeck is offline
 
Aabeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Detroit
Posts: 798
To bypass the flashing function you would have to open the sealed electronics in the housing and rewire the power to the bulb direct.

This isn't feasible as trying to open the sealed portion would destroy the housing and bulb socket.

Maybe have a Bridgeport operator end-mill everything up to the terminals out of the housing and put your own bulb socket wired to the terminals
  Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2017, 04:55 PM   #7
keithkyll
Member
United States

keithkyll is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Heath, TX
Posts: 1,864
Hard to figure out this Siemens stuff. Datasheet says Single-Flash and flash rate of 1 Hz.
Also says life of LED is 50K hours, and lamp is Zenon.

If lamp is Zenon, continuous isn't possible.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2017, 07:21 AM   #8
Kataeb
Member
Lebanon

Kataeb is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: www.livelovelebanon.com
Posts: 360
we will have to use this one instead.
8WD4220-5AB
ST.-LIGHT ELEMENTS LED, RED, AC/DC 24V
__________________

"character may be manifested in the great moments, but it is made in the small ones"
  Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2017, 02:26 PM   #9
Firejo
Member
United States

Firejo is offline
 
Firejo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 850
That is a strobe light and cannot be made to stay on steady. Strobe lights are very different than other types of lights (LED, incandescent, etc…) including what it takes to power them.
__________________
Go Hawks!!!
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AB 1746-N18 flashing light Canalta LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 January 4th, 2014 12:16 PM
Flashing TER light on Modicon TSX Micro peanutsue LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 June 23rd, 2011 12:03 PM
Class Project Plexico LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 33 October 16th, 2007 07:03 PM
Can You Help? Buddha LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 May 31st, 2005 07:10 AM
Bit shifting? tlvaun LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 17 December 5th, 2002 10:51 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 AM.


.