You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 21st, 2017, 12:59 AM   #1
sifis
Banned User
United States

sifis is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: OKC., OK.,USA
Posts: 139
1756-L72 firmware upgrade

How do you upgrade the firmware of the 1756-L72?
 
Old April 21st, 2017, 01:11 AM   #2
guydegraeff
Member
South Africa

guydegraeff is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 21
Hi sifis,

the firmware version is the version that the code was created in.

Step 1: create your code in the version you want. i.e. when you start a new project in RSLogix 5000 / Studio 5000 it asked what version you want to use. if you are using existing code then just edit the controller properties.

Step 2: set the PLC to program mode via the selector switch on the front of the unit.

Step 3: then download the code.

This works for upgrading and downgrading the firmware.

or you can use the ControlFlash program.

Cheers
Guy

Last edited by guydegraeff; April 21st, 2017 at 01:48 AM. Reason: additional info
 
Old April 21st, 2017, 06:17 AM   #3
nhatsen
Member
Venezuela

nhatsen is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by sifis View Post
How do you upgrade the firmware of the 1756-L72?
a) The module has to be installed in a rack with a power supply.
b) Stablish a physical connection between the controller and your computer. For example, if there's an ethernet module on the same rack, you can go via ethernet.
c) Stablish communication via RSLinx (verify you can locate the controller under the declared driver).
d) Use ControlFlash to upgrade the controller. If you don't have the desired firmware version, you'll need to downloaded from Rockwell webpage.
e) Remember: you need the correct version of Studio/RSLogix 5000 to upload/download applications to the controller. For example: if you upgrade a controller from v20 to v24, you'll need Studio v24.

Read the ControlFLASH Firmware Upgrade Kit User Manual.

EDIT:

If you upgrade a module to a firmware version supporting digital signature, you won't be able to donwgrade it anymore:

TN491365 Firmware Digital Signatures (Access Level: Everyone)
__________________
"If you can't solve a problem, then there is an easier problem you can solve: find it." (George Pólya)

Last edited by nhatsen; April 21st, 2017 at 06:26 AM. Reason: More info
 
Old April 21st, 2017, 06:44 AM   #4
sifis
Banned User
United States

sifis is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: OKC., OK.,USA
Posts: 139
What software/cables do I need to install/upgrade the firmware of the 1756-L72?
 
Old April 21st, 2017, 07:41 AM   #5
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 4,938
Depends what you have... if you have a ENBT on the same rack you can flash with it or you can use the USB port on the PLC

Software you need ControlFlash or RSLogix 5000 and RSLinx
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
 
Old April 21st, 2017, 07:52 AM   #6
dmargineau
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dmargineau is offline
 
dmargineau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Midwest
Posts: 2,255
Quote:
Originally Posted by sifis View Post
What software/cables do I need to install/upgrade the firmware of the 1756-L72?
Studio 5000 at the intended firmware upgrade revision level, the respective firmware package, RSLinx Classic and the ControlFlash utility(e.g.: if you want to upgrade the L72 to Rev.24 you need Studio 5000 Logix Designer Rev.24 and the L72 Rev.24 Firmware package- the firmware package is usually installed with the software revision)

As for connectivity, I'd suggest to use the L72 USB port and a USB-A type cable; if the existing system has implemented EtherNet/IP connectivity you could use Ethernet for firmware upgrades, however, since it is your first attempt, stick to USB.

WARNING:
Failure to maintain connectivity during the firmware upgrade could transform your CPU into a very expensive brick...
 
Old April 21st, 2017, 08:38 AM   #7
sifis
Banned User
United States

sifis is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: OKC., OK.,USA
Posts: 139
I have,
1.1756-L72 processor
2.RSLinx Classic 3.71
3.Controllogix chassis w/power supply.
4.USB Ethernet cable for Controllogix.
I do not want to buy any AB software, unless it is absolutely necessary.
Thank you.
 
Old April 21st, 2017, 08:50 AM   #8
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 4,938
Click the link below

http://compatibility.rockwellautomat...-L72&crumb=112

Then select the series and firmware, you will still need ControlFlash software
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
 
Old April 21st, 2017, 08:53 AM   #9
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 4,938
For ControlFlash click the link below

http://compatibility.rockwellautomat...q=ControlFLASH

Then click Products (2)
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
 
Old April 21st, 2017, 09:04 AM   #10
dmargineau
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dmargineau is offline
 
dmargineau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Midwest
Posts: 2,255
It is not absolutely necessary; unless something goes wrong and you need to interface with the CPU or you don't care about any existing user application (if any).

ControlFLASH :http://compatibility.rockwellautomat...versions=55875

Firmware at above posted link.
 
Old April 21st, 2017, 09:24 AM   #11
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 4,938
Quote:
Originally Posted by sifis View Post
How do you upgrade...
On second thought.... Joe, all the years you have been working on this **** you have never flashed a CPU or ENBT ?
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
 
Old April 21st, 2017, 09:29 AM   #12
sifis
Banned User
United States

sifis is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: OKC., OK.,USA
Posts: 139
No, no need.
 
Old April 21st, 2017, 09:30 AM   #13
nhatsen
Member
Venezuela

nhatsen is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by sifis View Post
I have,
1.1756-L72 processor
2.RSLinx Classic 3.71
3.Controllogix chassis w/power supply.
4.USB Ethernet cable for Controllogix.
I do not want to buy any AB software, unless it is absolutely necessary.
Thank you.
Keep in mind that firmware upgrade will erase any application and data existing in the controller.
__________________
"If you can't solve a problem, then there is an easier problem you can solve: find it." (George Pólya)
 
Old April 21st, 2017, 11:01 AM   #14
Geospark
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Geospark is offline
 
Geospark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kildare
Posts: 2,129
Quote:
Originally Posted by sifis
How do you upgrade the firmware of the 1756-L72?...

...What software/cables do I need to install/upgrade the firmware of the 1756-L72?...

...I have,
1.1756-L72 processor
2.RSLinx Classic 3.71
3.Controllogix chassis w/power supply.
4.USB Ethernet cable for Controllogix.
I do not want to buy any AB software, unless it is absolutely necessary.
Thank you...

Quote:
Originally Posted by geniusintraining
...you have never flashed a CPU or ENBT ?
...No, no need.
The question I would most like answered, having read the above, is why now do you have a need to flash this controller's firmware? What is the intended goal here? If you have no previous experience then I would tread carefully. You sound nonchalant as if this is a trivial thing to do?

If you currently do not have any Rockwell Automation software, then I am struggling to see why you are even near a ControlLogix L72 processor? I am not saying that you do not have a valid reason to be; just that I cannot see one at the moment. What do you hope to achieve by flashing the firmware, to whatever revision it is you think you require, of which you have not stated yet, when you can do no more after performing said flash upgrade. If you do not have the required programming software to download either a new project, or an upgraded existing project, after the flash, then what do you hope to do with the processor after the flash?

One reason I have thought of - If the hardware is all new for a new install then perhaps you are just looking to "prep" the processor for someone else without getting into anything project related? If so, I would say why bother? There is not much of an advantage to it. Just let them do it when they are at the processor. But that is pure guesswork on my behalf.

If this is a running system then any advice been given related to wiping the processor's memory during a flash upgrade should be heeded with the utmost of respect.

You "sound", thus far, like you just want to upgrade the firmware in the processor, and walk away? Do you expect something that is currently working to continue to work after you have performed this upgrade?

Give us a reason, and a good one at that, why you want to perform this upgrade, and then maybe we can start to advise you properly as to your next steps.

Or completely ignore me, your choice!

Regards,
George
__________________
"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men".
 
Old April 21st, 2017, 12:20 PM   #15
sifis
Banned User
United States

sifis is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: OKC., OK.,USA
Posts: 139
You worry too much about the why.
I am only interested in the how.
Thank you for the advice.
 
Closed Thread
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Panelview Plus Firmware Upgrade Problem woodward_uk LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 September 2nd, 2015 04:31 AM
Firmware Upgrade of PV Plus to Ver 6 chavak LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 December 18th, 2011 05:57 AM
panelview550 firmware upgrade problem wolf3000 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 January 26th, 2011 02:16 PM
FM 357-2 firmware upgrade vlad.colesnic LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 November 16th, 2008 09:19 AM
1747-SDN Firmware Upgrade? 504bloke LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 August 4th, 2005 04:48 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 AM.


.