You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 20th, 2017, 08:34 PM   #1
asterof
Member
Ajman

asterof is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Califonia
Posts: 530
VM Machine License

If I run a a virtual server and have ten virtual machines
running, do I need a license for each VM running on the main
VM Server.
Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2017, 07:21 AM   #2
Dravik
Member
United States

Dravik is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,059
You do need a windows license for each VM yes.

It is also rather complicated to figure out, Start here ->
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/lice...alization.aspx
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/lice...l-machine.aspx
  Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2017, 05:14 PM   #3
Ravioli
Member
United States

Ravioli is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 25
It gets very complicated, but a Windows Data Center Server licence will allow an unlimited number of VM guests running Windows Server on that hardware, on a per processor basis (Server 2012R2) or per core basis (Server 2016).

This also allows the unlimited guests even if the VM Server itself is running ESXi and not Windows Server / HyperV
  Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2017, 05:18 PM   #4
asterof
Member
Ajman

asterof is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Califonia
Posts: 530
Cool

Good information, thanks
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to run (or transfer license ) FT View Studio 6 on my XP Virtual Machine Eoghan LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 April 23rd, 2014 06:47 AM
Transferring Siemens License keys to VMware VM joseph_e2 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 January 18th, 2012 03:01 PM
Siemens WinCC Smart Service License nag dahnuguy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 May 24th, 2010 11:03 PM
Finding the license number in Step 7 V5.1 Aiden McMillan LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 April 28th, 2010 11:53 PM
One PLC, One machine V's One PLC, Two Machines Mylo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 March 4th, 2005 04:38 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 AM.


.