RSLogix Emulate 5000 - Controller Setup

DC2010

Hi all,
I'm new to Allen Bradley programming but have done a bit with Siemens. I was hoping someone could give some direction on the following:

I am trying to set up RS Emulate. In the RSLogix Emulate chassis monitor the first available slot is 1 as RSLinx is in slot 0. And "Emulator RSLogix Emulate 5000 Controller" setup in slot 1.
My PLC is a 1769-L32E w/ (2xIQ32A, 1xOB32A, 1xOB16B, 1xIF4B, 1xOF4CIA) the CPU slot is 0, so when i try to connect to the virtual chassis is fails with error incorrect controller slot number.
What do I do as I cannot change either slot number?
Also do I need to set up IO modules on the Virtual Chassis in order to get no errors during download?

I have tried setting up another test program with controller "Emulator RSLogix Emulate 5000 Controller" and transferring all tags, routines and data types, but this seems unnecessary plus local IO doesn't match afterward.

Hopefully I have not omitted any crucial info.
Any guidance would be much appreciated.
Thanks,
DC

I use the emulator as well mine has rs linx in slot 0 , unknown communications adaptor in slot 1 and I can put the emulator in any slot I want although it is fixed as a 5868 controller,so I write a program make the controller the same as the one in the emulator try it and before downloading it into the processor I change it to match the one I am downloading it to, also remember you can add a processor to any slot, so you can put it in a slot not being used so it does not affect the IO's

the IO's in the virtual chassis have to match the IO's in your program unless you are just using tags with out being assigned to IO's, I have tried ladder logic without IO's (tags only) and later assigned the IO's so only an emulator was needed

Thanks Jude,
I hadn't thought about leaving the IO the same and putting the processor into another slot.