You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 15th, 2019, 12:18 PM   #16
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 6,438
Quote:
Originally Posted by harryting View Post
Ok, I'm confused. Does this replace Tech Connect (for end user)?
The whole thing is confusing to me... but if you login you can see the pricing and support is a 'option' for a extra cost but I still dont understand the different packages
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2019, 02:09 PM   #17
rpoet
Member
United States

rpoet is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 493
Rockwell: you can buy better, but you'll never pay more.




-rpoet
  Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2019, 03:21 PM   #18
rupej
Member
United States

rupej is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: NC
Posts: 617
Quote:
Originally Posted by rpoet View Post
Rockwell: you can buy better, but you'll never pay more.
Emerson: Challenge accepted.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2019, 09:40 PM   #19
seth350
Member
United States

seth350 is online now
 
seth350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Over yonder
Posts: 342
Well this really has me worried now.

We have been in the boat of “we will just keep v20 and logix5, logix500 and not upgrade”

Now, IT is upgrading all PCs and laptops to Win10. Win7 is no longer allowed. I assume that also means VMs.

We were going to just bite the bullet and start upgrading PLCs to latest Studio but ****...
This will mean that capital funds will need to be asked for every year.

Even my new fav B&R have begun subscription based licensing. But they are $1700 a year.
__________________
“Did the Lord say that machines outta take the place of livin’, and what’s the substitute for bread and beans? Do engines get rewarded for their steam?” -John Henry
  Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2019, 02:31 AM   #20
ktmtragic
Member
Australia

ktmtragic is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 78
Why buy this there a far superior equipment in the real world
  Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2019, 07:17 AM   #21
BlueAltezza
Member
United States

BlueAltezza is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by seth350 View Post
Well this really has me worried now.

We have been in the boat of “we will just keep v20 and logix5, logix500 and not upgrade”

Now, IT is upgrading all PCs and laptops to Win10. Win7 is no longer allowed. I assume that also means VMs.

We were going to just bite the bullet and start upgrading PLCs to latest Studio but ****...
This will mean that capital funds will need to be asked for every year.

Even my new fav B&R have begun subscription based licensing. But they are $1700 a year.
I run v20 on my W10 laptop. There's hope for ya!
  Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2019, 08:29 PM   #22
sparkie
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

sparkie is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: KS
Posts: 1,041
Man, this kinda thing really screws a small-guy like me over. For those prices I may as well start automating with Raspberry Pi's and Arduinos and just put those thousands in my pocket instead.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2019, 09:13 PM   #23
seth350
Member
United States

seth350 is online now
 
seth350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Over yonder
Posts: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueAltezza View Post
I run v20 on my W10 laptop. There's hope for ya!
Yes, as long as hardware stays compatible we would theoretically be ok. I’m not so worried about logix5000 but rather logix5 & 500. We have many Micrologix, two SLCs, and two PLC5s. Everything else is either a Control or Compactlogix.
Rockwell and compatibility don’t go well together.
__________________
“Did the Lord say that machines outta take the place of livin’, and what’s the substitute for bread and beans? Do engines get rewarded for their steam?” -John Henry
  Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2019, 04:49 AM   #24
HJTRBO
Member
New Zealand

HJTRBO is offline
 
HJTRBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 617
Easy fixed, just start heading over to the Russian PLC sites to get the job done. What is the small guy supposed to do?
  Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2019, 05:19 AM   #25
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 13,835
Quote:
Originally Posted by seth350 View Post
I’m not so worried about logix5000 but rather logix5 & 500.
There shouldnt be any critical reason why you would have to update RSLogix 5 or RSLogix 500 in the future.
If compatibility with the latest windows versions is a concern, then run the older software in a VM.
__________________
Jesper
See my profile interests for Q&A
  Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2019, 05:48 AM   #26
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 6,438
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesperMP View Post
There shouldnt be any critical reason why you would have to update RSLogix 5 or RSLogix 500 in the future.
If compatibility with the latest windows versions is a concern, then run the older software in a VM.
I use a lot of 1400's and I remember a that they made you upgrade RSLogix 500 to use the 1400's in the past, if they 'lock us out' we will have no choice


Quote:
Originally Posted by sparkie
Man, this kinda thing really screws a small-guy like me over.
I use 500 everyday so I dont have much problem paying for it but Studio and Factorytalk I use maybe 3 times a year, there is no way I can justify paying thousands for software I use 3 times a year, the only thing I can do is if a customer has newer software they will be on their own or they will need to let me use their laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by HJTRBO
Easy fixed, just start heading over to the Russian PLC sites to get the job done. What is the small guy supposed to do?
I would hate to do that, I believe you should pay for it if you use it... but man they are killing me

I still think they should give the software away and just add another 50-100 bucks onto the hardware price, if you buy 50 CPU's then you pay more... if you buy 5 CPU's you pay less
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2019, 12:25 PM   #27
BlueAltezza
Member
United States

BlueAltezza is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by geniusintraining View Post

I still think they should give the software away and just add another 50-100 bucks onto the hardware price, if you buy 50 CPU's then you pay more... if you buy 5 CPU's you pay less
Local distributors could do that, but I'm not sure if they are allowed with AB?
With other manufacturers, I've had plenty of dist give out software because they are getting the hardware business - they are probably (or could easily) hiding the cost of the software in the hardware spread out over time.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2019, 12:33 PM   #28
harryting
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

harryting is offline
 
harryting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 2,054
Anyone know if and when Techconnect is going away and be replaced by this?

I just did some quick calculation it comes out to well over 6 figures/year for us.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2019, 05:15 AM   #29
Elcan
Member
United States

Elcan is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 788
Quote:
Originally Posted by harryting View Post
Anyone know if and when Techconnect is going away and be replaced by this?

I just did some quick calculation it comes out to well over 6 figures/year for us.
If you take a look at this Power Point, it seems that they are keeping the existing licensing/support model in parallel with the new one.
https://www.slideshare.net/RockwellA...nd-maintenance
  Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2019, 02:25 AM   #30
cardosocea
Member
United Kingdom

cardosocea is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fields of corn
Posts: 1,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elcan View Post
If you take a look at this Power Point, it seems that they are keeping the existing licensing/support model in parallel with the new one.
For now...
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FYI - Rockwell Software padees LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 August 27th, 2017 11:55 AM
STEP 7 and RSLogix5000 DamianInRochester LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 69 September 17th, 2016 01:14 AM
Thank you, Rockwell... L5K_Edit LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 January 12th, 2016 07:24 AM
Thank You Rockwell Automation Plastic LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 36 April 10th, 2014 03:56 PM
Rockwell Allen Bradley Programming Software, RSLogix 5, RSLogix 500, RS Linx, RSLogix vvcd LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 21 September 24th, 2009 10:04 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 PM.


.