alias RSLogix 5000

AGENTTINFOIL

Guys I know that this has been addressed before but after a search I come up empty handed. Can someone take me through the steps of creating an alias in RSLogix5000? I am new to the CompactLogix and I need to add some logic to this controller. I see alot of tags and alias, but I need to create a new one altogether.

Thanks

Let me restate the question. When creating new instructions in RSLogix5000 What is the steps to doing this? I know it is not as simple as dropping OTE and addressing it. from what I have read so far I see that I need to create a tag and an alias. I think that the alias is reference to a memory location or an address of a physical device. Here is another question, do I use the program tags sub file in the tree to see what tags are available or is that just what has been created thus far? and how do I add more for use in the program? I hope I am asking these questions right so you guys can understand.

Last edited:
Try this out in Google. Same search term gets over 100 hits from this site.
alias RSLogix 5000 site:plctalk.net/qanda

edit site colon plctalk

Last edited:
When you add an I/O module to your I/O Configuration RSLogix5000 automatically creates all of the tags for that module.

You can use those tags as is. The downside though of course is that you did not name those tags. RSLogix has a default pattern for naming the tags and that is what you would have to use.

So after dropping your OTE instruction into the logic, you could assign a tag such as: Local:2:0.Data.4. That tag can be manually typed in or if you double-click on the question mark (tag placeholder) then you will see a drop-down field where you can go and manually pick the tag.

An alternative though would be to create an alias tag. This is a new tag that will be tied to an existing (Base) tag. Aliases can allow you to come up with a new name using your own naming pattern/scheme.