Kepware Assistance

Gadelric

Team,

Project details: Make Kepware monitor the PLC connection and send an email if plc is offline for x amount of time.

Seems simple enough, however, I have limited experience with kepware, short of changing the IP address to a PLC that is already set up in kepware.

When they sent me out for training a while back, I was given a full version of KepserverEX V6, this is a fully functional set up with all applications, same as what we use in house. This version that I have requires a restart after a couple of hours, so it cant be used in a production environment. This does give me the option to poke around and not mess up the main system.

Things I have figured out:
I can add a device.
I can generate the tag database.
I can see said tags in the OPC client.

I am kind of stuck here, I am not able to see the tag value, but I am not getting any errors. Getting frustrated is half my issues, not having something to reference to is the other half.

I do have some "training" items that has gotten me this far, but I am looking for some more documentation and or tutorials on how to progress through the alarm and event set up.

Once I can get this working in my test environment, I will feel more comfortable with adding the alarm function to the live environment.

I have a 5370 test PLC that just has a few timers running, so I have the hardware and the kepware software, issues are at the meat level.. o_O

Thank you in advance,

Gad

The tag value is only shown in the OPC Client I'm sure there are many new features in V6 onwards but really the OPC Server is only the go between plc & some higher level system. If you are using either the Kepserver client or some other you should see the data in the client if there are no errors