RSLogix 5000 v20 version question

Note, I have NO experience with RSLogix products. Never done anything beyond installing the software for others. Please forgive me for my absolute ignorance here.

At work, we have RSLogix 5000 Studio (v20.01.00) and it has caused some concern with one user in particular. It crashed with a fatal error after opening a project file. I believe we have the issue resolved by right-clicking the binary file and selecting to run as administrator (we only had to do this once and the issue should be resolved forever, as per my reading online).

A second resolution (I'm trying to cover all bases here, and have a "next step" solution in the works) which was proposed elsewhere, was to install v20.05.00, however the one user in particular is stating he can't use that version as it will not match the firmware in the PLC.

I wasn't aware minor revision changes (like going to v20.05.00) was not feasible for a project which is already up and running and in production, but this one user is insisting that to change to v20.05.00 will require at least a day of downtime of the production machines so he can upgrade the firmware in the PLCs to make them compatible with v20.05.00, and I guess my question is...

...is the user right in his assertion that we cannot install v20.05.00 in lieu of v20.01.00 and have everything just work? Or, as I had initially believed, can we install v20.05.00 in place of his v20.01.00 and everything will be okay as-is?

It seems to me that v20 is v20 and would be v20, and I would be okay with being wrong on this belief. I just would like clarification from an external source, as I suspect this user might be incorrect.

I appreciate any input, and I look forward to hearing responses from others with a ton more knowledge than myself on this matter.

RSLogix 5000 v20.05 will work with any revision of v20.x firmware

Welcome to the PLCTalk forum community !