You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 12th, 2019, 08:37 PM   #1
mjp123gp
Member
United States

mjp123gp is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 72
Omron C200H Alarm LED

I have a customer with the Omron C200H that occasionally will start flashing the alarm light and the machine stops. They say they can power down the whole machine for about 10 minutes and it will come back on and run for a little while but eventually does the same thing. I don't have any way to connect to the PLC at the moment. They kind of suspect it could be heat related but nothing has really changed in the past 15 years they've had it to make the cabinet any hotter. Processor was replaced about 4 months ago.



What are some other things that will cause the processor to go into alarm? I haven't been onsite yet but was hoping to get a few ideas before I go there.


Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2019, 10:47 PM   #2
BobB
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

BobB is offline
 
BobB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4,297
Processor, cards, rack. How did they replace the C200H - it has been dead for many years?
__________________
The Old Pfhaart

  Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2019, 11:09 PM   #3
mjp123gp
Member
United States

mjp123gp is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobB View Post
Processor, cards, rack. How did they replace the C200H - it has been dead for many years?
They bought one on eBay and swapped the memory module.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2019, 12:54 AM   #4
BobB
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

BobB is offline
 
BobB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4,297
Bloody hell - should have replaced it.
__________________
The Old Pfhaart

  Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2019, 06:33 AM   #5
gtsuport
Member
United States

gtsuport is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 1,150
Possibly the power supply in the processor?
C200H was discontinued in 2001.
They should really look to replace the system.


Omron CS1 could reuse the modules and the code should convert.
Just make sure the backplane can use C200H modules.



gtsuport
  Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2019, 07:16 AM   #6
gclshortt
Member
Canada

gclshortt is offline
 
gclshortt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Cobourg
Posts: 2,766
+1 gtsuport
Use a handheld unit to see the alarm on the CPU. (Flashing Error Light) This may point you to the cause of the error. As Bob indicated this could be the backplane connection, battery, or power supply.
http://industrial.omron.com.br/uploa...ual_C200HS.pdf
Look at section 10 - troubleshooting

Regards,
__________________
Garry
https://www.accautomation.ca
Connect with us on Facebook: facebook.com/accautomation/
  Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2019, 08:49 AM   #7
James Mcquade
Member
United States

James Mcquade is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 2,365
it could be one of the following.
bad power to the plc supply, is a surge suppressor installed?
power supply going bad
cpu going bad
an I//o card going bad
water/ moisture in the system

may I suggest that the next time they have the fault and power down the system.

disconnect all plc components and reconnect them several times, you may have a dirty contact at a connection block. we have had this to occur here several times.

james
  Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2019, 04:09 PM   #8
mjp123gp
Member
United States

mjp123gp is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtsuport View Post
Possibly the power supply in the processor?
C200H was discontinued in 2001.
They should really look to replace the system.


Omron CS1 could reuse the modules and the code should convert.
Just make sure the backplane can use C200H modules.



gtsuport

You responded to one of my other posts about the correct cable to connect to this processor. Do you know if the C200H-LK202-V1 cable will work? The only difference I see compared to the LK201 is that is has the 9-pin connector instead of the 25 pin on the front.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2019, 06:08 AM   #9
gtsuport
Member
United States

gtsuport is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 1,150
LK201-V1 is a RS232 Host Link.
LK202 is a RS422/485 Host Link.


I am attaching diagrams for 9 pin and 25 pin cables.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf GTC99CC.pdf (8.5 KB, 1 views)
File Type: pdf GTC925CC.pdf (40.1 KB, 1 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2019, 09:36 PM   #10
5618
Member
United States

5618 is offline
 
5618's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: York, PA
Posts: 85
Once upon a time we had machines with C200H systems. When we updated those, we replaced the CPU with CS1G-CPU43H, the power supply with PA204, and the 8 slot backplane with CS1W-BC083. The backplane was direct bolt on to the same mounting holes. The IO modules were reused.

With the newer CPU, we connected direct with a serial cable. I had a cable for the small connector but maybe we could connect with the DB9. We had other Omrons in that era. Some the DB9 worked for comms, some needed the small connector.

I don’t know how current these are but it might help figure out the future of your system.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2019, 05:12 PM   #11
BobB
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

BobB is offline
 
BobB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4,297
CS1G is till current.
__________________
The Old Pfhaart

  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Omron plc c200h Luke123 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 March 12th, 2014 02:58 PM
citect scada to omron c200h #com fault dannyb LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 September 8th, 2011 07:20 AM
Need help With Omron C200H AD001 AI CONTROLTESTGUY LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 November 3rd, 2006 05:14 PM
Omron C200H and CQM1 comms??? Mr_B LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 May 26th, 2005 01:05 AM
OMRON NT31C alarm history BJR LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 May 21st, 2004 08:30 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 PM.


.