Crimson 3.0 Emulator PLC communication

Tim James

I'm new to Crimson 3.0 so bear with me. I have a AB Micrologix 1200 plugged into my desktop COM serial port. I can see the PLC just fine in RSLinx so I know it's communicating with the computer. So I built a rudimentary panel in Crimson with some data entry, couple push buttons, etc just so I can see the PLC and the emulator communicating and check my tag addressing. When I run the emulator though, none of the values in the PLC are pulled into the emulator and no data entered in the emulator is making it to the PLC. I never have even seen the COMM light on the PLC blip since I've been using Crimson. I thought this would be relatively simple since the MicroLogix doesn't use ethernet. I have the link settings for the emulator set up to map to the COM 1 port (I've tried mapping it to programming port and serial comms port). Under communications, I'm using the RS-232 Comms Port, DF1 Master v1.02. My communication setting match what the PLC is setup for (baud rate, error checking, duplex, etc). The PLC is showing up as 'PLC1' in Devices in the resource pane and all of the data files under it (outputs, inputs, bits, floats, etc) show up as yellow icons.

It's clear Crimson is not communicating with the PLC and I'm hoping it just because of some setting I've missed due to my lack of familiarity with the software. Any advice on where to go or what to check from here would be appreciated. Thanks.

I have had mixed results using the emulator to talk to a real PLC on etherent, and have not tried it serially. I have had better luck with the DF1 Master driver on etherent than I have had with the DF1 vie EIP/PCCC, and when it works, I still have at times had to escape and restart the emulator occasionally to get comms, but you're doing serial, so I don't know if that "try again" methodology applies.