You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 30th, 2020, 11:27 AM   #1
netasp
Member
Canada

netasp is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: ON
Posts: 3
DINT 32bit Limitation

Guys,
I am new to PLC concept and I am trying to evaluate an existing program written in RSLogix5000 which has a faulting module up to 32 bit fault...using DINT.

If I want to increase my number of faults to more than 32 faults, what would be the best way?
  Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2020, 11:35 AM   #2
Rayman_7676
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Rayman_7676 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Cincy, OH
Posts: 8
See attached

Pretty much you create an array of Dints - Alarm[6]. the you have 6x32 --192 for your alarms. you can make it bigger if needed. But do not use Alarm0.0 for an alarm because in the supplied logic it will result in an alarm number of 0. In the attached ACD the logic produces an alarm number for each alarm.. kinda nice for data collection.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Bit Level Alarm Number.zip (1.53 MB, 10 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2020, 12:21 PM   #3
netasp
Member
Canada

netasp is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: ON
Posts: 3
Thank you very much. I will try to convert it into a first up alarming system using masking and XOR logic
  Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2020, 05:46 PM   #4
cwal61
Member
United States

cwal61 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 1,153
There are two options in Factory Talk View ME for an Alarm Trigger. As explained by Rayman you can create an Array to increase your 32 bit alarms. Which would also require you to create an additional trigger per word in your array. You also have the option of using Values which would give you 2,147,483,647 alarms the max value of a DINT. If you use the Bit option. Then Alarm bit.0 would use a message trigger value of 1 and Alarm bit.31 would use a message trigger value of 32. If Alarm word = 0 then no alarm active. This can be confusing to new users. The Bit option is looking at the Bit's position in the alarm word.

If you chose the Value option then instead of setting an Alarm bit true if an alarm happens you would have to move a value into the word. Then the alarm message trigger would need to be equal to the value. This is an easier option for setting first alarm by requiring that the alarm word must be equal to zero before allowing an alarm. Once the first alarm is reset then move zero into alarm word. Thereby allowing next alarm to activate.

I set them up like this:
If reset alarm active and alarm word = alarm value then move zero into alarm word.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2020, 08:20 AM   #5
netasp
Member
Canada

netasp is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: ON
Posts: 3
Thank you
  Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2020, 12:28 PM   #6
Lare
Member
Finland

Lare is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,363
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwal61 View Post
There are two options in Factory Talk View ME for an Alarm Trigger. As explained by Rayman you can create an Array to increase your 32 bit alarms. Which would also require you to create an additional trigger per word in your array. You also have the option of using Values which would give you 2,147,483,647 alarms the max value of a DINT.



And for alarmvalues is maybe advisable to use hex values as they are easier to remember than long int or Dint value.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Siemens STL Counter TrainS7 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 March 28th, 2016 02:21 PM
Loading .Pre in an array of timers? dginbuffalo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 24 March 11th, 2016 06:44 PM
Compare bits of dint to another dint value seth350 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 April 3rd, 2015 03:46 AM
Change Detection on Complex UDDT members ntommyb LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 February 9th, 2014 08:26 AM
DINT word mapped to UDT word RSLogix5000 Tugboat LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 December 12th, 2011 06:57 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:10 PM.


.