In over my head (ladder logic) Horner PLC, serial Barcode scan

Ted Z

Thanks ahead for any insight or assistance...

I am a machine designer of 25+ Years in a relatively new "one man band" position, I've never had controls training and only enough experience to be dangerous. I've always had controls engineers in house that do the programming and debugging.

I've been tasked with a Pass/Fail barcode scanner table that has a stop cylinder to control part pass through.

I am using a Horner HE-XE105UC, Datalogic Gryphon GFS4450-9 (RS232), Inductive prox for both Part Present, Cylinder Sensors for position of stopper cylinder and a simple R/G indicator LED.

As far as wiring, It is all functional.

I can get some of the logic to do what i want, but am having a hard time putting the logic together to do what i need.

The basics are:

Part makes PP switch (Start of cycle)

Clear values from last scan and verify state of the stop cylinder

Bar code scans, ASCII data in (28 char), Compare last 12 digits with known string

Success > green indicator lights, Stop cylinder retracts.
Fail > Red indicator lights, Stop cylinder stays extended.

if part passes, outgoing PP switch is made, clearing last scan memory, and extending stop cylinder.

End of Cycle

Please help me become the hero of the day! :)

It's not yet completely, unambiguously clear what you want the PLC to do. E.g.

• Is "PP switch (Start of cycle)" the same as PART_POS1?
  • Is "outgoing PP switch" the same as PART_POS2?
  • What value will SOL_EXT have, 0 or 1, either to extend or to retract the stop cylinder?
  • for the bar code reader
    • Is it continually sending its last-read string to the serial interface, or does it have to be polled or triggered?
    • Is there a start and/or termination characters between bar code strings sent to the serial interface e.g. carriage return, linefeed, whitespace, comma, semi-colon, etc.?