Pump Control with a PLC

MisterEzell

Hi guys,
I'm currently a PLC student in my 40's. I just started going to a local tech school, and really am kinda slipping in the mud trying to get my old gray matter wrapped around all this. My instructor seems to enjoy dumping projects on us that we are ill prepared for, and seeing where the pieces fall. He takes a sink or swim approach. He handed out a project the other day that I know just enough about to know that I don't know much about it. Especially where to start. He does, however, highly recommend that we use every resource we can get our hands on to learn, and accomplish the project. The internet is a resource. Right? Probably the single greatest resource ever! With all this in mind, I'm not asking anyone to do my homework. I'm simply asking for guidance, and education. Point me in the right direction, and I'll learn as I see the different components come together and function. Below will be word for word what the project asks us to accomplish. Thanks in advance for any and all input. Right now I'm using TLP Logix Pro Simulator at home, but I use MicroLogix 1200 at school.

-----------------------------------------------------------------​

Pump Control with a PLC​

PLC LAB​

Engineers and technicians are now designing their own pump station controls, using a PLC and assorted sensors with other inputs, instead of buying one preconfigured and preprogrammed. This "do-it-yourself" method of pump station control gives you exactly the type of control you need and want, and you aren't forced to buy something that almost fits. There are a number of things you have to remember to include in the PLC programming.​