RSLogix 5000 Deleting a Module Defined data type

TMB

Hello Forum,

I'm new to the AB family of controllers and software. Most of my experience has been with Mitsubishi FX series controllers. I've done some programming with the SLC and RSLogix 500 but new to the RSLogix 5000. So if I could get a little nudge in the right direction, it would REALLY be appreciated. I've read through some of the posts and there is a lot of knowledge on this site. Hopefully somebody can shed some light.

Is it possible to remove duplicate information from the Module Defined data types? I'm currently using a CompactLogix L16.

oXLEykJ5n

Thanks,
Tom

Welcome to the Forum Tom!

When you are stating "duplicate information from the Module Defined data types" are you referring to the Module Defined data types Alias Tags?
If the answer is affirmative, one will ask you another question:

Why would you remove End_of_Travel_LS and use the originating R160:I.Data[1].7?

Obviously they are the same thing, however, doesn't make more sense understanding and working with an application when using the Alias tag?
You cannot remove the Hardware defined tags; only the Aliases could be disposed of, presuming you will replace each Alias occurrence with its originating, hardware tag; and again: Why would you?
Alias Tags are one of the best features of the Logix controllers family since they are introducing process explicit information within the programming code.

dmargineau

Thanks for the reply. This attachment was to be on the first post. I am configuring a PF 525, when selecting the input or output tag's data type, I've got 2 of each to choose from. I don't think this is correct and one needs to be deleted. Right? Or am I way off base?

Module_Defined_Data_Type.png