You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 10th, 2015, 11:10 AM   #1
tcarafi
Member
United States

tcarafi is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 2
Fuel oil tank level

Good day everyone.

I have a pending project regarding tank level. This company wants us to set up a sensor for the amount of fuel oil in a single tank at any given time.
Our idea as a company was to install a pressure meter at the bottom of the tank, in order to find the height of the liquid, then the volume.
My question is the following: would a Siemens SITRANS P DS III sensor work for it, considering the liquid in question (fuel oil)? Would the sensor become corroded at all?
  Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2015, 11:24 AM   #2
boneless
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

boneless is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: OKC
Posts: 1,614
When we have level transmitters for oil tanks, we usually mount them on top of the tank (non contact). As you state, depending on what oil you are measuring, there could be corrosion.

I think this is the one we have used in the past: http://www2.emersonprocess.com/en-us...ges/index.aspx
  Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2015, 11:45 AM   #3
Tom Jenkins
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Tom Jenkins is offline
 
Tom Jenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 6,217
If you are measuring oil level with a pressure transmitter make sure you know the specific gravity of the oil. If you are worried about corrosion use an isolation diaphragm similar to this: http://www2.emersonprocess.com/en-us...ges/index.aspx
  Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2015, 12:43 PM   #4
Bullzi
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Bullzi is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,530
What size is your tank? How accurate do you need it to be? Do you need to interface with a PLC or HMI?
__________________
There is never enough money to do it right but there is always enough money to do it again.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2015, 04:04 PM   #5
tcarafi
Member
United States

tcarafi is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 2
It's a 2.5 meter diameter, 5 meter long bunker C fuel oil tank.
I need an HMI, and the purpose is to calculate the volume of oil in the tank.
Is it a better idea to get an ultrasound sensor and set it on top instead?

Last edited by tcarafi; July 10th, 2015 at 04:06 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2015, 04:43 PM   #6
danw
Member
United States

danw is offline
 
danw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: midwest, USA
Posts: 3,268
Head pressure works for level, but the result is density/specific gravity dependent. Physical level (elevation) is a calculation: head pressure/specific gravity.

Say the level is constant but the density changes due to temperature. The indicated level (from the transmitter) will not change because the head pressure is the same, but the physical level will change due to the temperature related expansion or contraction.

Corrosion is unlikely, because Siemen's wetted parts are at least stainless steel.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2015, 05:10 PM   #7
Bullzi
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Bullzi is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,530
That is a small tank compared to what I am use to.

You should have a bunch of options for a tank like that. You an use Float, Pressure, Magnetostrictive, Ultrasonic and Radar. A lot will depend on how accurate you want to be, what is available in your area and the budget.

I would take a look around and see what you can get your hands on maybe call a local company that specialises in level measurement and see what they have.
__________________
There is never enough money to do it right but there is always enough money to do it again.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2015, 05:36 PM   #8
a062549
Lifetime Supporting Member
China

a062549 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Home
Posts: 139
How much do you have to spend??

I have used static pressure instruments in the lower part of the tank with good success. And you can make the display tell you how much is in the tank, and not have to HMI it??
John

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullzi View Post
That is a small tank compared to what I am use to.

You should have a bunch of options for a tank like that. You an use Float, Pressure, Magnetostrictive, Ultrasonic and Radar. A lot will depend on how accurate you want to be, what is available in your area and the budget.

I would take a look around and see what you can get your hands on maybe call a local company that specialises in level measurement and see what they have.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2015, 07:00 PM   #9
Bullzi
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Bullzi is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,530
One important thing: Make sure that you get a system that is rated for the hazardous environmental conditions of the material in the tank. If it is a vented tank you will need Class 1 Div.1 rated equipment if you will have any electrical connections on it.
__________________
There is never enough money to do it right but there is always enough money to do it again.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2015, 07:31 PM   #10
keshik
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

keshik is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 408
I've used ultrasonics for this sort of thing (tank level measurement) on a few different projects and it's worked well. Pretty simple to program and install.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2015, 07:59 PM   #11
milldrone
Member
United States

milldrone is offline
 
milldrone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: in the dog house
Posts: 1,325
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcarafi View Post
It's a 2.5 meter diameter, 5 meter long bunker C fuel oil tank.
Is this a round tank with the axis horizontal?
__________________
Vaughn

If you can read this, thank a teacher.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2015, 08:08 PM   #12
keshik
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

keshik is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by milldrone View Post
Is this a round tank with the axis horizontal?
That is a good question. My tank have always been vertical. An ultrasonic won't work as well on a horizontal tank.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2015, 08:18 PM   #13
Edmhydraulics
Member
Canada

Edmhydraulics is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Beaumont
Posts: 173
Up here we use Titan Logix TD-80 Level Sensors on fuel and oil trucks, great mobile product, good temp ratings, also Class 1 Div 2 rated for explosion risk areas. It uses Radar and time of flight to measure the distance from the top of the tank to the fluid level, volumes are calculated by the unit with a strap chart. To connect to an HMI, the unit comes with a 4-20ma output and I convert that to distance, from there I have a strap chart in the HMI or PLC.

Unit runs on 12-24Vdc, I typically use 24Vdc as the 4-20 seems to react better. There are probably hundreds of thousands of these units in service around North America, most oil field tankers use them, but they can be used on all types of fuel and water/liquids. The in-tank components are all stainless.

Might look them up and see if that is what you need.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2015, 02:55 PM   #14
shooter
Member
Netherlands

shooter is offline
 
shooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: duketown
Posts: 2,711
be sure the tank has a pressure outlet on top, as otherwise you can measure wrongly with a pressuresensor.
__________________
shooter@home.nl
skype shooter paul.deelen
Computer Shooter
Paul Deelen
J. Wassenaerstraat 29
NL 5224 GG 's-Hertogenbosch
+31653300739
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STUDENT QUESTIONS, please post them here! Lancie1 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 58 February 6th, 2015 07:16 PM
Advanced Control - Tank Level Control Peter Nachtwey LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 22 April 19th, 2014 04:22 AM
Remote Sump and Tank Level Control, AB 5/04 DiaperWolf LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 March 7th, 2011 07:21 PM
Fuel Oil GregPLC LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 17 December 2nd, 2004 05:44 AM
tank level interfaces Paul L. LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 May 5th, 2004 12:20 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:16 AM.


.