Basic Device Net Question

jgrassel

Hello all,
I am new to using DeviceNet and have a few questions. I understand the concept of why the protocol exists but have never actually used it yet.

1. If I install something like 1769-SDN into a new AB Compact Logix system, can I then use it to communicate to another existing master system that talks DeviceNet?

2. Could my new CLX system with the card installed be a slave system where I send and receive bits and transmit some analog data values to the master system? (while doing its normal job of controlling the local instrumentation, pumps, etc)

3. Would this be relatively simple to setup a connection between DeviceNET memory locations and PLC controller memory locations such that I can then read/write values from my ladder logic?

Thanks for any advice or thoughts!

Whatever you are quoting for time getting the network setup, triple your time estimate for that portion. Setting up a Devicenet network ALWAYS takes a lot more time than you think it will.

Good to know! Thanks! - after I get to know the customer a little better I will probably suggest Ethernet or probably good old hard-wired signals - in truth they don't really need a lot beyond some basic handshaking.

Hi
I am not a big fan of Ethernet my self, well not when it comes to reliable controls, I have spend to many hours trouble shooting systems where the customer has chosen to use a $ 50 hub from Walmart.

You might need a few extra hours setting up devicenet "true", but when it runs it rock solid 🍻

Hi
I am not a big fan of Ethernet my self, well not when it comes to reliable controls, I have spend to many hours trouble shooting systems where the customer has chosen to use a $ 50 hub from Walmart.

You might need a few extra hours setting up devicenet "true", but when it runs it rock solid 🍻

Ethernet is just as reliable. If you use cheap or incorrect parts on Devicenet it won't be reliable either.