Beginners Question

SysApp

I am new to programming PLCs and have a basic question to get me started. I am used to programming LabView or Visual Basic but I am having a hard time getting my mind into Ladder Logic gear. I am programming a SLC 5/3.

I am controlling several air cylinders and I am not sure of the best or correct way to go about it. The valves are dual solenoid so I have an output to extend and an output to retract. There are hall effect sensors on each end.

I need to turn on the extend output until the fully extended switch closes. I then need to turn on the retract output until the fully retracted switch closes. I am not sure of the best way to do this since each rung is read several times before the first operation is complete. I was able to accomplish it by turning bits on and off to force program flow, but I think this can get messy if I do this throughout the program.

I have several cylinders that I have to operate in sequence. For example I have to extend cyl A then extend cyl B then turn on a vacuum pump then retract cyl B then retract cyl A then etc... How do I order the steps?

Thanks in advance for any advice, examples, or links.

SysApp

I am not sure of the best way to do this since each rung is read several times before the first operation is complete.

You need to unlearn some VB techniques and learn some new PLC programming techniques. In VB, you might have several different lines setting a variable's value. In a PLC, you generally only want one line (rung) of ladder logic per output point.

The PLC will solve every line of logic, storing the ON/OFF state of the outputs in its memory. After solving the last line of logic, the states of the outputs are sent from PLC memory to the output modules. Then the PLC reads the states of the inputs and starts solving the program rungs all over again.