Sensors for unwinding aplication in harsh environment

MrQ

Hello,

I am looking for sensors to measure the roll diameter of a roll with unwinding steelwire. The max diameter is aproximately 1500mm and the min 500 mm. The sensor will be mounted aprox 200-500 mm away from the roll. I have never used sensors to measure distance before but I have read some threads and understand that the main choices are laser or ultrasonic. The resolution/accuracy is not critical 5-10mm is OK.

However my application is a little special . The roll is mounted on a vehicle that moves at aprox 10-15 km/h while unwinding. There is no roof or cover. The vehicle is used all year in Sweden. So it might be anywhere from -20'C to +50'C it may be dark or intense sun light and calm or windy.

Which type of sensor would be best in my application?

The way I understand ultrasonic sensors have problems with temperature and wind.

Laser sensors have problems with ambient light.

Is there any sensor type???

There are a lot of brands on the market. Has anyone used anything for an aplication like mine?

Since precision is not an issue, do you know the speed of the wire through the machine? If so, mount a rugged limit switch so that it gets tripped once per revolution of the unwind. Measure the time between each actuation of the limit switch.

Then (Wire Speed * Time between actuations)/ PI = Diameter

Steve,

Thank you for a quick reply. I have considered this but the wire speed equals the speed of the vehicle and I am not sure how accurate readings I can get from the system that controlls the speed of the vehicle.

Simon,

to make a long story short without going into details it is a brake where I control the force.

I have used a number of ultra sonic & laser types in harsh enviroments, the ultrasonic would be best, I used one in a factory that made concrete products so very dusty & it worked a treat.