Another ENBT dies...

TheWaterboy

Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Hi folks

Just has my second ENBT die on me with no outward indication. It worked again merely by pulling it out of the rack and putting it back in. (does it run on windows ??? :) )

Is this a common failure mode with these that I am just beginning to see the start of?

Please list the exact catalog number and series, plus the firmware revision that it is running on.

Also, when you say "dies", do you mean that it just stops communicating? What does the front scrolling display look like? What do the indicator lights look like?

1756-ENBT FW 6.006

All lights are fine and display says OK and scrolls the IP just like normal. Controller indicated nothing.

A couple machines appeared to be talking to it fine (because their comm alarms didn't set off till later) but most including my desktop could not. Plugging in locally also couldn't connect to, or ping it.

Had this happen a couple months ago to another PLC with identical symptoms and same resolution. I replaced it but found that when I plugged it into one of my test racks it came back to life.

These were both new in 2009 so maybe there is a built in time bomb that does this so we buy new parts.... Only half kidding.

Have you seen KB586614?

They suggest that you will probably see a lot of FSC/Alignment errors accumulating on a system that locks up like this. You should check to see if you are getting those errors accumulating, the only acceptable value is 0.

The only other concrete thing they offer is making sure that you are on FW6.006, which obviously you are.

FSC errors increment very slowly. KB hints that I should look at the network settings, as with everything networky always blame something else first.

The module I replaced months ago has zero FCS errors and its network facing hardware has not changed, so perhaps that is indeed a good indicator of a failing module.