s71200 PLC-triggered logging on TP700 HMI - TIA Portal

swedeleaner

Hey guys!
Newbie here, have some experience in both S7 Classic and TIA V13, but would really like your opinions/help on a solution.

Hardware/Software Used:
S7-1215C
TP700 Comfort
TIA Portal V13 SP1 Upgrade 4

After hours of googling I found some hints, but nothing seemed like a complete solution.

I need two separate logs in CSV-format. I want to log each time a measurement is finished, so no timed events or button controlled triggers.
These logs are created and stored in the HMI, and will be reachable from the web-server,

I have two PLC-tags that would be suitable for triggers.
Is this possible using the Historical data -> Data log? I just cant find how to use bit triggered logging?
Several hints pointed at the system command "LogTag", but i just cant understand it should be used?

The only "Events" available for the data logs is "Overflow", and i guess this is an event used for when the log is full?

Or is the built in Data log function not suitable for this type of logging, do I need to use a script instead?
It seems like a quite simple function, but i´m having a really hard time configuring it.

Help is very appreciated! :geek:

Hei!

Just to clarify, what do you want to log when the measurement has finished? Something that has already happened? Or a (range of) single value(s)?

Maybe set up the logging as "on change" . Change the value in the PLC and the value is logged.

Logging a value on change is the way to do this. It may need some dedicated tags to be sent to the HMI if you need to display the reading as well.

You could also data log to the PLC memory card, which is a little easier to configure for logging on events. Its not easy to set up though.

Boneless:

I want to log something that is already stored in a number of variables. These vars are later set to 0 and next measuring cycle is started.
So I guess that "a range of single values" is accurate.