Omron C200hx , Cpu64

pgeorge525

hi all..

i am a student and working on a project with PLC(OMRON C200HX , CPU64) and barcodes.i want to know how this particular PLC's memory works ? when the barcode reads the data how will the PLC trigger when there is a new data being read ? will it erase the old one or overwrite or shift....

does the barcode(BL 700, Keyence) plays a role in this memory allocation ?

if somebody can explain in simple words...thank you

praveen

Hi

Do you want to know how the internal data words works ?????

How do you read the barcodes and where do you want to put the data ?

Regards

Brian

Omron

If you call omron they have the best support i have ever seen. You can visit there site to call at www.Omron.com But i belive it will shift the data and at the end of your string it will just keep dumbing the information. but the best thing is to talk to omron

Firstly, is the barcode reader connected to the inbuilt RS232 port on the PLC (directly under the peripheral port) or is it connected to a communications board mounted in the CPU. The plugin board could be a C200HW-COM02 / COM03 / COM04 / COM05 OR COM06. The COM04, COM05 and COM06 cards all support the Protocol Macro Function. (i'll explain later).

There are basically two ways to get the data into the PLC. One where the communication ports are set to dumb RS232 ports (see the PLC setup) and require the Recieve (RXD) instruction to read the incoming data. Or if using the communication boards the program could be using a protocol macro function (PMCR).

If you examine the PLC program for either of the instructions then you can get an idea of what is happening with the barcode data...

The RXD(--) and PMCR(--) functions are both expansion functions, therefore I cannot determine the function number associated with each instruction without examining the function mapping.

RXD(--) - Receive
Three parameters make up this instruction....
D -Destination
C -Control Word
N -Number of bytes