You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 14th, 2020, 05:37 PM   #1
Baker in Virginia
Member
United States

Baker in Virginia is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Virginia
Posts: 282
Fanuc LR Mate - Is it a good practice to move a Robot by hand instead of Teach Pendan

Good Evening ,

We have a Fanuc LR Mate . Our operators have the habit of grabbing hold of the robot to clear a crash , or find the witness marks . Is it a good practice to move it by hand or use the teach pendant ?

Thanks so much in advance .
  Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2020, 06:45 AM   #2
saultgeorge
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

saultgeorge is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Detroit
Posts: 293
I'm not sure what an "LR Mate" is, however I've worked around a lot of robots in various applications, and I've never seen a robot tech, engineer, programmer, maintenance personnel or anyone move one by hand. Maybe I've just missed it. I've always seen the teach pendant used.
__________________
"4 out of 5 Great Lakes prefer Michigan."
"I brake for no apparent reason."
  Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2020, 07:26 AM   #3
Jasondelane
Supporting Member
United States

Jasondelane is offline
 
Jasondelane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Florence sc
Posts: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baker in Virginia View Post
Good Evening ,

Is it a good practice to move it by hand or use the teach pendant ?
No

Fanuc operator and engineer manuals always state that you should never get within the working range of a powered robot.

Your coworkers are taking a dangerous shortcut.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2020, 07:37 AM   #4
wes.s
Member
United States

wes.s is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 37
Not familiar with that model of fanuc but physically overriding the motor brakes isn't a good idea.

A while back when I had S-500's, a maint tech arm wrested one and I had to come in in the middle of the night to tell it that that new position it powered up at was okay. I'm surprised your robot isn't throwing alarms and refusing to run.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2020, 07:41 AM   #5
jstolaruk
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

jstolaruk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit, SE Michigan
Posts: 3,536
The only way you're able to move the robot by asserting pressure by hand is if its a collaborative model. And having recently completed a project using a collabrative LRMate, it is capable of that. The Nachi collaborative model is also capable of that function. And it is considered "safe". Now, is it the best way? It would depend on the application.
__________________
"You can live to be a hundred if you give up all the things that make you want to live to be a hundred." Woody Allen
  Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2020, 12:39 PM   #6
HawkME
Member
United States

HawkME is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 8
If this is a yellow robot and they are moving it by hand (overpowering the motor breaks), then this is not acceptable. They are going to damage the robot. They need to be told to never do this again.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2020, 12:57 PM   #7
jstolaruk
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

jstolaruk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit, SE Michigan
Posts: 3,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkME View Post
If this is a yellow robot and they are moving it by hand (overpowering the motor breaks), then this is not acceptable. They are going to damage the robot. They need to be told to never do this again.
If it is yellow and they are able to move the robot by hand without using the brake release box, then there is a much bigger problem here - time for a new robot or get this one refurbished.
__________________
"You can live to be a hundred if you give up all the things that make you want to live to be a hundred." Woody Allen
  Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2020, 01:44 PM   #8
harryting
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

harryting is offline
 
harryting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 2,154
Danger Mr. Robinson!
  Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2020, 01:49 PM   #9
the_msp
Lifetime Supporting Member
United Kingdom

the_msp is offline
 
the_msp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 884
I have no experience with Fanuc robots but a quick google search shows they are of a 5 or 6 axis style robot.

If you can touch the robot when there is power applied and there is a chance the robot can execute its program then this is a very poor design of safety robot cell and needs immediate rectification.

The 6 axis robots I have worked with (Kuka, Epson, Staubli) all needed to be moved by teach pendant/HMI after a crash. You should not over-ride the brakes as stated above.

With the exception of maintenance activities which of course should then be carried out by skilled, competent persons. The epson robot controller as an example has a D-Sub connector on the back, which you can inject 24V in to to release the brakes, I have had to use this when changing the servo on one axis for accessibility.

SCARA robots on the other hand, these can be pushed whilst the cell is in a safe state (i.e. a Castell or similar key is removed before entering the cell and stays on the person within the cell). The Staubli/Bosch-Rexroth SCARA's come included with a button on top to release the 4th (Z) axis, this can be used both to clear after a crash and for teaching (move by hand and then enter "here" on the pendant).

TLDR: No.
__________________
Regards,

Patrick G. B.Eng MIET

Making the flashy lights flash since the 90's

SCADA - Inductive Automation Gold Integrator | PLC | Control Panels | Robotics | Training

Connect with Matrix Engineering

Last edited by the_msp; January 15th, 2020 at 01:50 PM. Reason: typo
  Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2020, 09:19 PM   #10
SD_Scott
Member
United States

SD_Scott is offline
 
SD_Scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 168
I used to work with Fanuc Arcmate welding robots and the joints have brakes. Maybe just the weight bearing joints had them so you couldn't move them. Maybe the smaller joints or non weight bearing joints could be moved. The pulse coders are battery backed so if you power it off and remove the batteries, you have to re-master the robot, which I have had to do. I would recommend not moving it by hand.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2020, 04:05 PM   #11
ziyaddin2015
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

ziyaddin2015 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 35
We have bunch of those robots in our plant and the end efector part axis 6 moves easily by hand but i am asking not to do it whenever i see someone doing it. I went through robot training and those robot that have timing belt could easily skip the tooth on the sprocket which then pick and place positions might be effected. Not recomended got fanuc LR mate robots.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2020, 04:29 PM   #12
James Mcquade
Member
United States

James Mcquade is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 2,711
you should NEVER get into a live robot work cell when its hung or faulted !
if you grab the robot with your hand and clear it, it could take off and continue on its movement / cycle. who knows what it will do.

I know of a technician working on a robot and accidently triggered the cycle and it crushed him against a wall column before anything could be done.

let's work safely and use the pendent.
note - I design the systems and never programmed them. I do see them in action a lot. these units move 100+ lbs and move at impressive speed to keep up production.

james
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fanuc Robot no teach pendent Holmslykke LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 January 16th, 2020 04:12 PM
How to lock/freeze Fanuc robot teach pendent? wendaiyu LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 August 31st, 2019 10:06 AM
Fanuc Arc Mate Sr Robot Pc quadroo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 26 August 7th, 2015 02:55 PM
Question about FANUC 200iC LR Mate R30iA sxj1988 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 April 27th, 2015 04:04 PM
Fanuc robot issue rexcramer LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 April 22nd, 2014 12:41 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 AM.


.