Fanuc robot issue

rexcramer

I know this is not a robotics forum, but you folks are pretty smart and a lot of you work with robots on a daily basis.

I have no experience with robots, but we have three of them so I need to familiarize myself with them as much as I can until I can get my company to pony up for a robotics class.

I have a Fanuc 200ic robot we have set aside as a trainer, and it has an R-30ia controller. It sat for a couple years and now when I try to restart it I cannot move the robot at all. I figured the batteries in the base of the robot were dead so I replaced them and still have the same issues.

I get a SRVO-075 Pulse not established error, which I understand means the encoder is "lost" and needs to see a pulse so it can orient itself. The problem is in Joint mode I cannot move the robot at all, no matter what I do. I cannot do a zero master until I can get this thing to move somehow. I tried resetting the PCA with no luck, and doing a shift-reset as suggested by Fanuc.

I just acquired a maintenance manual from Fanuc, and it suggested that based on my LED indicators (SVEMG LED is red without an E-stop activated) that I may have a Servo Amplifier issue, but tech support at Fanuc said no, if I cannot move the robot I may have a wiring harness problem or a motor problem and closed the ticket. They have been kinda useless to me.

Before I spend the cash to have a service tech come here I want to make sure I am not missing something easy due to my ignorance of this machine.

Thanks

The batteries you replaced are for "pulse coder" position data. Your axes do not know where they are. You must perform a mastering of the affected axes, which may be all of them. I have not worked with that particular model, but the steps will be similar.