You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread October 8th, 2019, 08:30 AM   #16
Holly
Member
United States

Holly is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: kentucky
Posts: 14
[quote=Geospark]What Series (A or B) is the DNI Interface that is connected to the new MicroLogix 1400 controller?

1761-Net-DNI B FRN 2.01. we are using Port 0 with cable 1761-CBL-AM00 ser. C AiC to Micrologix

Do you have the DNI Configuration Utility installed?

We have RSNetWorx for DeviceNet

Do you have software access to view and configure the DeviceNet network, such as RSNetWorx for DeviceNet?

I connect to the DNI using cable 2707-NC8, Ser A PGM cable( that's the same cable I used to connect with the PLC). I opened the software and was able to locate the entire network and I also located my node but I don't know how to establish a comm link to see settings.
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 8th, 2019, 08:58 AM   #17
Holly
Member
United States

Holly is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: kentucky
Posts: 14
[QUOTx=Geospark]Is the program loaded and running in the MicroLogix 1400 a conversion of the original MicroLogix 1000 program, or is it a new program with the original logic copied over?

I downloaded the original 1000 program. It issued a couple of warnings that certain things would be changed though.
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 8th, 2019, 11:06 AM   #18
Holly
Member
United States

Holly is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: kentucky
Posts: 14
This is what I see in RSlinx classic

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/attachm...855=1570546855
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg DeviceNet_1.jpeg (52.1 KB, 22 views)
File Type: jpeg DeviceNet_2.jpeg (43.0 KB, 11 views)
File Type: jpeg DeviceNet_3.jpeg (46.5 KB, 11 views)
File Type: jpeg DeviceNet_4.jpeg (56.5 KB, 10 views)

Last edited by Holly; October 8th, 2019 at 11:46 AM. Reason: misprint
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 8th, 2019, 11:48 AM   #19
Holly
Member
United States

Holly is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: kentucky
Posts: 14
This is what I see in RSNetWorx
http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/attachm...=1570549646646
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg DeviceNet_5.jpeg (46.8 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpeg DeviceNet_6.jpeg (53.6 KB, 6 views)
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 12th, 2019, 08:50 AM   #20
Holly
Member
United States

Holly is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: kentucky
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geospark View Post

Do you have software access to view and configure the DeviceNet network, such as RSNetWorx for DeviceNet?

So it is possible that the DNI "might" need to be "touched"?

As I've mentioned, there are also parameters in the DNI to configure the default integer Data Files for the DF1 controller I/O data mapping. These parameters should have been set to "7" for the default N7 Data File in the MicroLogix 1000 and should be left at "7" for the MicroLogix 1400, as its default is also the N7 Data File. However, if for instance you are now using say an N10 Data File in the MicroLogix 1400, then you would have to change these parameters from "7" to "10".

Note: If you do find you need or would like to change any parameter settings in a Series B DNI, then you must first set it into idle mode. You do this by first setting parameter 0012 "I/O Scan Enable" to "0" - "Disabled" and then, after you've changed any parameters, set it back to "1" - "Enabled"

I need to get into the DNI and I don't know how.I viewed the offline EDS and clearly there is a need to change parameter #11. It is set for Micrologix 1000.
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 12th, 2019, 01:53 PM   #21
Geospark
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Geospark is offline
 
Geospark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kildare
Posts: 2,787
I was only asking if you had the DNI Configuration Utility in case you did not have RSNetWorx for DeviceNet, as the Utility is free to download. RSNetWorx for DeviceNet can also be used to browse the network and configure the DNI interface. If you can see the DNI online in RSNetWorx for DeviceNet, just double-click it and go through its tabular information and you should find the parameters.

I'm going to link you to very detailed and specific information and solutions to your issue. Having said that, I'm respectfully concerned that it may be a bit "over your head"?

But here goes...

In the following information, note that for your existing application you should not need to carry out the initial configuration of the DNI node address and mapping of the DNI I/O data into the SDN scanner. Just reference the parameter settings, the heartbeat logic, and pay close attention to the N integer Data File addresses mentioned in a few places...

16453 - Not getting data from a MicroLogix connected to the 1761-NET-DNI and/or 1747/1771 DeviceNet Scanner generating error code 86
Access Level: Everyone

But as always, any questions, fire away.

Regards,
George
__________________
"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men".

Last edited by Geospark; October 12th, 2019 at 01:58 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Micrologix 1500 communication question. Eric.Noe LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 16 May 17th, 2011 12:34 AM
MicroLogix 1000 question Cannery LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 September 2nd, 2008 02:19 PM
micrologix 1200, and 1000 question darrentpi LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 July 24th, 2008 05:42 AM
Micrologix 1500 comm question katratzi LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 November 23rd, 2005 06:23 PM
Question about using 2 Barcode Scanners with Micrologix vha23 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 August 25th, 2005 03:38 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 PM.


.