RS5000 Software Activation

darkesha

Hi, this is my first time ever to work with activations or anything like that in terms of software. I run Open Source, and while i used to run Windows i used cracked programs and cracked OS. Not nice, but MSoft wond go bancrupt.
So now i am having this problem with activation of RS5000 (V16.03). I had to download the file on computer that is connected to the internet, and copy it to the default folder on computer where I installed the software. All I got is litlle txt file. Now I am not sure what I am supposed to do.
When I start Actiavtion tool, I dont see anything else except RSLogix5 under Current Activations. Also, when I go to Settings I think I should get the options for Starting and Stopping of the activation server (lmgrd.exe), and its grayed out. It seys that service has not been installed as a windows service. Is this only for allowing this station to be a server for other rs5000 users or it is actually for activation ?
Any light in this tunnel would be greatly appreciated. I can use this software for next 7 days so it is not that critical.
Thanks everyone.

In version 16 and later, Rockwell will be activating the software online as you described. Unless you need a certain function in version 16, it might be easier to drop a version and use the standard activations. FYI

You really need to read about the FactoryTalk Activation tool before you start installing licenses. I can't really talk you through the exact steps, because we use developer kits. Fortunately, those aren't on the new license system yet.

Basically, what I've been told of the new system is that there are two ways you can assign a license. You can have them locally hosted, which is probably what you're trying to do. Or you can have a license server, which will allow you to share licenses in your office. When you use the server option, they've done some things to accomodate laptops that may go off network, out to the field, and get lost.