PLC-5/30 PID Control Block/Analog Input Card Numeric Values

myrd03

I am new to this analog stuff and am having problems understanding the value or scaling or ?? when passing data between an analog input card and the PID control block. We have a pressure transmitter scaled from 50-150 deg F (4-20ma) to a 1771-IFE/C analog input card (channel 3) on an AB PLC-5/30 . The raw data is 0-4095 in the input card.
1771-IFE_Setup_75.JPG

When the data shows up at the PID control block it looks like its in different units (decimal?). I would like to be able to enter my set point in degrees F. and have the process variable show up as 50 - 150 degrees.
PID Configure Screen
PID_Configure_screen.jpg

PID Status Screen

PID_Status_screen.jpg

I have read a ton of stuff on this site and it has gotten us to the point where the steam valve that this PID is controlling actually works. I just don't think I should have to figure out that 10,340 set point = 120 degrees. Any help is appeciated.

Greetings myrd03 ...

and welcome to the forum ...

first of all, the Data Format should USUALLY be set for Two’s Complement Binary ... BCD is USUALLY only appropriate for older PLC-2 systems ...

NOTE: are all of the rest of your field inputs working OK with the present BCD setting? ... if so, then do NOT change the setting to Two’s Complement Binary - or you’ll mess up all of your IFE inputs ... my best guess from what you’ve posted so far: someone in the past left the IFE module set for BCD and then “compensated” for that numbering system by using “unusual” scaling for the input signals ... suggestion: post your .RSP program file ...

also, when using PID, we USUALLY set the Raw Min for 0 and the Raw Max for 4095 ... specifically, we keep the module running “wide open” and do the scaling in the ladder logic ... either the PID does it for us - or we use ladder logic math functions ...

1771-IFE2.JPG