Flip Flop and Something to think about

rta53

Lifetime Supporting Member
This may surprise some of you more seasoned veterans, but I have been programming plcs for 15 years and can remember only one time having to use Flip Flop logic in my program. And actually I didn't even design this logic, I got it from a friend. Well today I found myself needing to do a Flip Flop and figured it would be rather simple, which it is, but after playing around with the logic a little I couldn't come up with a way of doing it that I liked. I thought, hey I will just logon to plcs.net and I will have my answer in seconds. I did get my answer, however it was not in a matter of seconds. I dutifully did my search for flip flop and got lots of hits. However the first 2 or 3 pages were filled mostly with posts containing lots of sarcasm and insults directed at stupid and lazy people who want someone else to do their work for them. I would love to belabor my point here but I need to get back to work. Suffice it to say I think some of you guys need to do the very thing you exhort others to do, which is use the search button, and see what comes up. I did and was unpleasantly surprised with what I got.

By the way, I did get my answer. I found a link, amongst all the stabs, to patchn.com and the example given by Ron. Very simple and works well. Finding it easily is another story.........

Randy Ayscue

I have been programming PLCs for almost 30 years and have never used a Flip-Flop in the program. Your point about the responses is well taken but you have to remember that what you read is out of context and time. Over any sufficient period, there are bound to be some objectionable posts on any forum, this one is no different. Follow your own advice as well as giving it to others.