Conveyor Product Tracking

lachuupriya

I'm a newbie to tracking concept. I have assigned a project to handle product tracking. Product should be delivered to destination without any lost.
Few parameters need to be considered Conveyor Length, Encoder(Using U sensor), Photo Electric Sensor(Only @ Head of Conveyor).
My questions how to generate ID, how to track product and how to transfer id to upstream conveyor.
AB PLC
Your inputs will be highly appreciated.

Last edited:
1. Use a barcode scanner. When product package is seen by Photo Electric Sensor @ Head of Conveyor, the barcode scanner device is triggered, and reads the character code to PLC memory. This barcode determines how product is routed.

2. To transfer the product ID code to an upstream conveyor, you could use a "First In FIrst Out" PLC memory stack. Many PLCs have an instruction that performs the FIFO operation. Another way is to use a Bit-Shift Register.

Is there a barcode? you don't mention one.

If not, how do you know whe difference between packages and where they should go?

Is there a divert system for routing?

A lot of information missing.

basic tracking using an ID.

1. Decide the tracking zone (usually starts and ends at a photoeye, other photoeyes maybe in between).

2. Every conveyor in the tracking zone (including the start photoeye conveyor) should have a pulsed signal (encoder or proximity on starwheel), each rising and falling edge would equate to a definitive movement. This would need to be calculated or tested by running an object between to sensors and counting the pulses.

3. Decide how many objects can be in the zone, the tracking ID range would need to be at least 1.5 times the number of objects.

4. An array or number of arrays (one for each conveyor) should be in the PLC, the number of positions should be 1 for each pulse expected on the conveyor.