You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 7th, 2017, 09:06 AM   #1
timryder
Member
United States

timryder is offline
 
timryder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Macomb MI
Posts: 103
Can't Add a controller to my project

So I have a machine that I'm building which will act as a slave to the Main PLC of the cell (1756-L85E ControlLogix). The PLC I am using is a compact logix 1769-L24ER, I have created some Produced and Consumed tags and a UDT which will be used for the interlocks between us, but when I try to add his PLC to my project as an EtherNet Node I can't see his controller type in my list. I went to rockwell and downloaded an EDS file for it and installed that but I still can't see it as an option to add.

What am I Doing wrong?

EDIT: I am using RSLogix 5000 Professional Edition v24.02
Attached Images
File Type: jpg AddModule.jpg (140.8 KB, 59 views)
__________________
"Youth cannot know what it is the aged feel, but old men are guilty if they forget what it was to be young."

Last edited by timryder; December 7th, 2017 at 09:07 AM. Reason: more info
  Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2017, 09:26 AM   #2
Bob O
Member
United States

Bob O is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location:
Posts: 1,489
WAG - Is the L85E supported in V24?
  Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2017, 09:31 AM   #3
KuulKuum
Member
United States

KuulKuum is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 122
Have you tried filtering by "Controller" only?

I did a quick check in Studio 5000 v30 (I don't have v24 installed) and what you are trying to accomplish worked fine for me in v30
  Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2017, 09:36 AM   #4
benaiahhenry
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

benaiahhenry is offline
 
benaiahhenry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Corning, NY
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob O View Post
WAG - Is the L85E supported in V24?
I think Bob is right. I don't think the L8's were supported until V28.

I was recently trying to set up produced/consumed between an L8 & L7 and had to bring the L7 up to V28 before I could add the L8 to its tree.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2017, 11:47 AM   #5
timryder
Member
United States

timryder is offline
 
timryder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Macomb MI
Posts: 103
Ok i'll upgrade my project to version 28 and try again.
Thanks everyone.
__________________
"Youth cannot know what it is the aged feel, but old men are guilty if they forget what it was to be young."
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Studio 5000 v21.xxx d_tech LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 17 October 14th, 2016 10:24 AM
FactoryTalk View Project question/s busarider29 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 August 26th, 2015 09:10 AM
Recommendation for a good class on ControlLogix5000? rustydud LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 February 8th, 2013 05:23 PM
External Read/Write Tag Access w/ ControlLogix Tim James LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 December 17th, 2012 10:57 PM
Writing a ST compiler Peter Nachtwey LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 60 September 21st, 2012 03:27 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 PM.


.