SLC500 Sequencer Instruction

jthornton

I am new to AB (not to PLC's) and have a current application that I am programming for a SCL500 1747-L511 processer. One part of the machine has a indexing rack that feeds Master Cases down the line. There are 5 possible cases or some may be missing. Position 1 is the place where an empty case is put into the machine, position 2 stages an empty case, position 3 is filling the case, position 4 closes the top flaps and position 5 is the exit into the taping machine.

Would the sequencer instructions be the best choice to monitor the presence or absence of cases?

Are there any more examples of the sequencer instruction besides the SLC Instuction Set Manual?

Does anyone have any tips or tricks for using this set of instructions?

Thanks
John

sequencer

Sequencers serve the purpose for machines that have mostly the same movements or sequences. For parts of the circuit that you would like to disable during the steps, use the mask words for your monitoring.

You could use a shift register.

Register's input is loaded by a sensor at initial position. This way each process attached to following positions can monitor if a case is present for it before running. Usefull for non sequential processes, because it breaks all relationships in programs between initial position and following processes (each one runs independently).

Regards

If you are just trying to monitor the prescence/abscense of cases, I dont think that a sequencer (SQO?) is what you need. If you just want a 1 for present and a 0 for absent, then a bit shift would be more appropriate (BSR, BSL). This is an easy to do part tracking through stations in a machine. An AB SQO instruction does not monitor bits, but it turns them on/off in a predetermined sequence.