Factory Talk View Studio Merging Panel Views

Hey guys,

Been a while since I have worked with factory talk view studio, I am also attempting something I have never tried before so I figured I would come here looking for advice first.

I have a few panel view applications that I need to merge together into 1 panel view application that I will create a screen and add buttons to existing screens to navigate through everything. Each existing application communicates with a different PLC.

Basically what would be the easiest way to accomplish this? I can easily copy all of the displays to a new application, will the tags come with it if I do this? Anything about getting alarms and messages from each application? Getting all of the stuff from communications setup from the different projects into one project?

Just any general advice for tackling this project would be nice.

Thanks,
PG

I open two instances of Factory Talk Studio, one with the application that I will be creating and the other with whatever application I'll copying out of. Then its just copy->paste.

PartialGenious:
Basically what would be the easiest way to accomplish this?

This will depend on the structure of your connections in the connection tab of the objects.
1. Are they mapped directly to the PLC.
2. Are they mapped to the HMI tag database.

I can easily copy all of the displays to a new application, will the tags come with it if I do this?

The Connection Tab will be populated for each object. But tags are not added to the database. (if mapped to HMI tag database)

To add screens from an old project to the new one I would use this method:
Right click on Displays in the explorer pane of the new project and use the Add Component into Application. This will allow you to navigate to the HMI project folders and select the project then open the GFX folder and pick the display.

Anything about getting alarms and messages from each application?