Powerflex 40 IP address

dabanani

I am new to Powerflex frequency drives. I am trying to communicate to Powerflex 40 through Ethernet IP using BOOTP. The problem is I cannot seem to find the IP address of the Drive as well as Subnet Mast and Gateway. I was looking at the manual for Powerflex so far no success.

If you are familiar with Powerflex40 and BOOTP, please help me, and your time is highly appreciated.

Aaron

You need a comm card for the PF40. I'm not sure of the the part # for PF40s. The comm card for PF 700 is 22-comm-e. The part number for the 40 should be similar (it might be a 20-comm-e). The information that you seek is in the manual for the comm card, not the drive itself.

Bernie mentions this because there is a RJ-45 style connector on the PowerFlex 40 series drives that is a connector for the Modbus RS-485 network and could be easily mistaken for an Ethernet jack.

You must have a 22-COMM-E module (or 22-XCOMM external module) to connect a PowerFlex 4/40/400 drive to an EtherNet/IP network.

Chapter 3 of the 22-COMM-E User Manual (publication 22-COMM-UM004) explains how to set the IP address using drive parameters.

Direct link to the user manual:

http://literature.rockwellautomation.com/idc/groups/literature/documents/um/22comm-um004_-en-p.pdf

Don't you just love A-B for putting RJ-45 sockets on the PF drives ?

Oh yeah, and the 1756-CNB modules !

Anywhere else ??

The supposed PLC GUY that was here when i was hired had a direct logic processor from AD and had a POTS phone line plugged into the little RJ-11 Serial port and he was looking on the AD site for a manual to configure a phone number for the internal modem. He bought this for a small machine that the company wanted remote diagnostics on.

I was 18 and green as grass as far as plc's and i knew better than that.

After about 10 minutes with the manual i showed him that the jack was the serial port for programmng.