Accessing Siemens S7200 data through 243-1 IT for HTML page?

jky

Hi,

I have a Siemens S7-224 plc with a CP243-1 IT ethernet module. I am trying to write some HTML pages so that plc info can be monitored over the web.

I am struggling to find how to access data bits on the plc to bring through to a web page. An sample HTML code for the status of an input or output would be great.

The documentation suggests that it can be done, but it all seems quite confusing, especially seeing as I am a newbie to HTML!

Thanks very much!

J

jky said:
Hi,
I have a Siemens S7-224 plc with a CP243-1 IT ethernet module. I am trying to write some HTML pages so that plc info can be monitored over the web.

I am struggling to find how to access data bits on the plc to bring through to a web page. An sample HTML code for the status of an input or output would be great.

The documentation suggests that it can be done, but it all seems quite confusing, especially seeing as I am a newbie to HTML!
J

Unless the module has a built-in web server, it's unlikely that you can do this in pure HTML. I haven't played with Siemens so I can't say for sure, but you'll probably need to use PHP or embedded Javascript so you'll have the network socket interface you'll need.

However; if you know VB or any other high level language, you could write a program to generate the HTML code using the free library libnodave. I've heard good things about this library dispite it's low version number.

Good luck.

Thanks castlerock. The module does actually have a built-in web server. Data is supposedly accessed via an applet and the code is something like this:

<APPLET CODE=”de.siemens.simaticnet.itcp.applets.S7StatusApplet.class”
ARCHIVE=”s7applets.jar, s7api.jar” NAME=”s7_status_3” WIDTH=80
HEIGHT=20>
<PARAM name=”RACK” value=0>
<PARAM name=”SLOT” value=3>
<PARAM name=”CYCLETIME” value=5000>
<PARAM name=”BACKGROUNDCOLOR” value=”0xFFFFFF”>
<PARAM name=”EDIT” value=”true”>
</APPLET>