Beginner's question: Why does a variable stays true in Codesys V3

Gragtor

Hi all,

I'm just starting out in the plc world. For school we had some introduction into codesys v3.5, basically we get given visualizations and have to provide the code either in ladder or in function block. I decided to also try to code the assignments in structured text as an exercise.

Thanks for bearing with me. On to the question:
In the attached screenshot you can see both the ladder and the structured text program. The ladder works fine. I can switch pumps on and off, and when the thermal overload kicks in (via button) the corresponding visual alerts turn on and p1 switches to p2.
I've got the same thing working in ST, but for one thing. the second visual alert (H4) stays true, and I cannot work out why.
Does anyone have an idea?

Capture.JPG

Short answer: the two programs behave differently because the two programs are not equivalent.

The first thing to learn about programming is this: the only thing worse than a program not doing what you want it to do, is when it does exactly what you told it to do. Anyone who keeps that in mind has a chance to be successful at programming. Anyone who does not fully embrace that mindset will fail.

TL;DR

Change all of the [ELSIF ...] clauses to [IF ... END_IF];

In the ladder program, every rung, along with its IF-expression-equivalent logic, is performed on every scan.

With the [IF ... ELSIF ... ELSIF ...] construct, only statements in the first TRUE IF or ELSIF expression's clause are executed; in fact, all following ELSIFs' expressions are not even evaluated (or should not be) once one IF's or ELSIF's expression is TRUE. Changing all to IFs makes the ST more similar to the ladder.

Just to be clear on jargon :

Code:
IF expression1 THEN
  clause1statements;   (* this will only be executed if expression1 is TRUE)
ELSIF expression2 THEN  (* this will not even be evaluated if expression1 is TRUE *)