Sub-routines - general question

burnerman

Reading another thread recently, someone advised upon not making subroutine jumps conditional, i.e. call them every scan, due to the fact that you can't predict what happens to coils and timers when you stop calling a subroutine.

This is generally how I tend to program but this is just a way of dividing the program into neatly managed blocks and that the true power of a subroutine is not being used.

I'm a self taught programmer and as such don't have any formal training in structured programming. I've often wondered what happens to coils, counters, timers etc. within a subroutine if you call that subroutine and then don't call it. Do the bits that were switched on the last time that subroutine was called stay on when you stop calling it? Are timer values retained? Do different PLC manufacturers/types work differently?

I've often thought of streamlining some of my programs by using conditional jumps but always shyed away due to the uncertainties mentioned above. Usually end up copying and pasting alot of code and changing addresses.

What's the general/educated view?

BTW I've worked on most of the popular PLC's except Siemens, I guess they will be different to most others - hell, I don't even understand most of the Siemens threads I read!!

I have done it both ways and either will work if you are careful how you use "conditional" JSR's. If I had a system that had Local (PanelView on the machine) and Remote (PC based HMI), I would use the input of a selector switch to determine which sub to execute. This is very handy if the logic is identical, and the only differences are the addresses of control devices (i.e. PanelView pushbutton vs. HMI pushbutton). This can also work for Auto/Manual logic, or infrequent modes of operation (like clean-in-place). As far as how stuff behaves in the scenario you describe: