Improve programming and control

elvisdoubt

Does anyone know a way to improve my programming and problem solving skills? Most courses just cover functions and UI from the programming softwares, but knowing platforms didn't mean you are a better porgrammer, I have some experience programming, about 3 years and now I feel I'm stuck even I already worked with several machines in my career.

Have you found any interesting problems to solve along the way?

You might visit an equipment manufacturer's site and see what stuff they build. Try to design an application that runs a piece of equipment and simulate it. Repeat that with other equipment. Can these programs co-exist as a process? Think about code modularity, dependencies, and ownership - if you add or remove existing equipment, does the other equipment's programming fail? How can you solve this? Can you make a state machine for combinations equipment? Even further - can you generalize a state machine across different processes? Can batch and continuous processes exist and carry out their work under the same framework?

Anyone can XIC a pushbutton or OTE a motor starter. What stuff necessarily happens between an input and an action? Permissive, interlock, state checks? Can logic be supplied that manages these in a general, scalable way?

What can be done in programming to align the functionality of several different VFD models across manufacturers? Parts shortages happen. Minus comms/protocol differences, does your programming permit design replacements with a minimal amount of IO rework?

Now circle back to the equipment you programmed and see what can be improved with everything up to this point.

Last edited:
Frequently the problem is not perfectly knowing the operation of the machine to be automated and this means knowing each of the position detectors, sensors, actuators, motors, drivers, etc. that it has and even detect if any device is missing.