PLC2 to PLC5

zqew05

Many thanks to Ron Beaufort for answering a PM for me. I am following hsi advise to post this on the forum. There is a PLC2 trainer on ebay being sold. I'm a mechanic with not a whole lot of background in electrical wiring, so I was thinking of just changing out the I/O cards and the PLC processor with PLC5 1785 card. This gets me to have a PLC5 trainer wired to buttons and lights on the old PLC2. I will follow Ron's advise, but would welcome anyone else's. BELOW IS THE RESPONSE PM FROM RON:

First of all ... you MIGHT be able to use the PLC2 trainer with your 1771 I/O cards ... there are (were?) several different “generations” of PLC2 processors ... not all models are compatible with all new hardware ... you’d have to get the exact catalog number and series number, etc. to be sure ...

the next thing is ... would this be the best way to help your nephew out? ... what I mean is: the PLC2 is OLD technology ... yes, there are some systems out there that are still being used today ... and just MAYBE there are some in your nephew’s region ... but I’ll be honest with you – I’ve never personally seen even ONE of these PLC2 things in operation ... so if I were going to spend ANY amount of money on a trainer it would NOT be for a PLC2 ... the same amount of cash would go a LOT further if spent on an SLC-500 system ... or even on a MicroLogix setup ... for one very important consideration, what is your nephew going to use for software to program this PLC2 controller? ... plus, if I remember correctly, the PLC2 requires a special cable for communication and programming ...