Mitsubishi software confusion

cretel

I am new to PLCs and decided to play with one in my free time.

I recently bought a Mitsubishi FX1N from a distributor and was told I had to buy the programming software as well.
Why are these things never bundled with software, made a complaint and was sent a program named MEDOC, which doesn't work on my windows 7 notebook...

I have searched high and low on the mitsubishi website but I cannot find a link to the demo software download.

I am also confused as to MEDOC, GX, GX IEC and GX works 1 2 3, what are the differences?

EDIT:
Also found out that in China, mitsubishi gives out software for free, they get the product codes by registering an account. Seems like Mitsubishi China has the right idea...
Too bad my chinese stinks, using a chinese software might very well kill me

Last edited:
Nothing?

Chinese internet has informed me that it is possible to download an official chinese GX work2, change the registry value for the program to make it think it is a english version. Then use a english update patch downloaded from mitsubishi japan's website.

End result should be a fully functional english free GX work2.

Still digging about mitsubishi china's website, can't seem to find the download button.

EDIT: Need to login to get the download but you need a legitimate china mobile phone number to get an account. damn.

Last edited:
I am new to PLCs and decided to play with one in my free time.

Then you need to read the manual written for your PLC. In the following thread there is a link to the manual:

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=86903&highlight=Mitsubishi+FX1N

On page 1-2 there's a graphic explaining what you need to program a Mitsubishi PLC.

Why are these things never bundled with software

Welcome to the automation world and its business model.

made a complaint and was sent a program named MEDOC, which doesn't work on my windows 7 notebook...
I think that Medoc is a DOS-based software: