Getting Data from SQL Database to the PLC

TheNewPLCGUY

Hello Eveyone,

I need your advice on one problem.I am using CompactLogix PLC.I am looking for some ways.So, that a PLC program can read data from the SQL server and use it to send the data to Laser Marker.

Basically, the PLC has to send a unique code to the laser marker for laser marking purpose.The Machine will confirm with the database of existing markup codes,That the code it is about to mark is unique.If the code is not unique then PLC will raise an alarm .

I am a newbie here and I am doing it for the first time.If you have any other questions please let me know.Any suggetions from the experts would be appreciated.

Thank you

Welcome to the PLCTalk forum community !

In general, a CompactLogix cannot directly exchange data with an SQL Server. There has to be some kind of middleware that performs the SQL queries and exchanges data with the controller.

Is the SQL server running on a local computer, or a server somewhere in the enterprise ?

Do you have any local HMI devices ?

There is always a trade-off between the degree of programming skill and experience required, and the amount of off-the-shelf software necessary.

If this were my system I would have built the HMI in Indusoft Web Studio, and therefore would have its comms drivers and SQL exchanges and VBScript available as my tools.

Others might approach it with AdvancedHMI and its driver set and VB container and SQL connectivity.

https://sourceforge.net/projects/advancedhmi/
I would use AdvancedHMI which is a free software written in VB.Net. All of the drivers required to communicate to the CompactLogix PLC is included. This runs in visual studio, so the connection to a SQL database is possible.
AdvancedHMI will read the information in the PLC, compare the database information and write back to the PLC.

Regards,

Welcome to the PLCTalk forum community !