Should USB replace RS-232 ports?

No income tax, no capital gains tax. Freedom!
I have had some bad experience with USB but now I look at my computer and my MP3 player, a USB hard drive, Logitech Web Cam, Mouse and Keyboard are connected to my computer using USB and I am NOT using RS-232 at all!

How does every feel about having a USB port on a PLC or more specifically a motion controller?

Bad points. 5 meters maximum cable lenght between hubs. No IP67 connectors yet.
Good points. Easy. No nodes or address, can connect to multiple PLCs or motion controllers.

RS-232 is going away. I hate proprietory communication links like MPI, SC09 cables and DH-485 boards.

My first choice is Ethernet but this is expensive. What should be a cheaper second choice?

Probably Yes

Probably in time we will find USB on PLC'S but i belive that you will be using more the proprietory communication links like MPI, SC09 cables and DH- 485 boards.

It's my feeling that USB is best suited for relatively "simple" devices like mice and keyboards and such. Legacy systems are going to dictate standard RS-232 ports will be required on our PCs for a long, long time. I just bought a new laptop, and the choice was pretty much dictated by insisting on a built in serial port. In the future PCMIA cards may be required to get serial connections.

In terms of hooking up to a PLC, I'm pretty convinced that ethernet is going to be the method of choice. I don't really see any advantage of USB over ethernet, and most new PLCs have some kind of ethernet connectivity.