SCADAPack 334 programming

jedft

Hi all! I have lots of experience programming AB w/500&5000 and some Schneider PLCs with Unity and SoMachine (and PL7/TwidoSuite but I don't talk about those dark days). I have a new project with SCADAPack 334E's and I'm just looking for an idea of what to expect here. What is going to be the easiest software package to use to program these for someone with my background?

These are fairly simple applications so no crazy logic or comms requirements. There is a SCADA system that it has to talk to through MDS radios.

Thanks for your input!

Fairly new to SCADAPack too but for the E series of RTU's typically you will need to use the SCADAPack E-Configurator and SCADAPack Workbench Software. I am pretty sure you can flash the firmware to be able to use Telepace Studio if you want.

SCADAPack Workbench looks almost identical to AB's Connected Component Workbench so if you are familiar with CCW you may like Workbench. It has all the IEC languages so if you like to use FB or ST this is the way to go. There are some YouTube videos that show some workbench programming. You may want to look at them before you decide.

Telepace is ladder only and not too bad to use, but the interface and graphics are very "dated" so if you are used to AB 500 and 5000 it will take some getting use to. If you are a ladder only guy you may like the simplicity of Telepace over Workbench. I found a couple of YouTube videos on Telepace that were in English but most seem to be in other languages but may be helpful anyway.

Hope this helps. Like I said I am fairly need to SCADAPack too.

I always forget about YouTube. That's a great idea, thanks!