Can you recommend the proper direction on SLC500

xcode

I am new to PLC's. I have read many of the online PDF, websites, and found this site via Utube.
I want to setup a SLC 500 5/03 to do some logic for outputing to a device ( relay 1746-OW16 ) maybe?
What the input device will be is a Proface 577R panel LCD box. There will be 64 buttons assigned to on when pushed, off when released. One shot push is fine.
The output of this to the SLC 500 will become my matrix logic.
I have 8 inputs X0-X7, and 8 inputs Y0-Y7 ... any combination of these at reference closed switch creates an output to the respective pins on a motherboard.
X0 Y0
X1 Y1
X2 Y2
------
X7 Y7
X0 Y0 = Start
X0 Y1 = Coolant
X0 Y2 = Tool in

Like that... Now, my thought was 64 relays. Each relay creates a complete circuit and I get signal at the motherbroad. Then I thought, well I should only need 16 relays and get the logic worked out in the PLC for 64 inputs, and output to 16 relays that sets up the logic.
X0 Y1 X1 Y1 X2 Y1 X3 Y1
X0 Y2 X1 Y2 X2 Y2 X3 Y2
and on down the line using all combinations of X0-X7 Y0-Y7 ( 8 squared I believe ) 64
There is NO voltage or current involved with the complete of the circuit. It is just a reference to ground. Close the switch, get a complete circuit. The completed circuit sets up a 1 or 0 ( hi or low ) on the motherboard. Not referring to the logic inside the PLC.
So, do I use a relay setup and can I use 16, or do I need 64 ?
Can I only use outputs on module 1746-OBP16 ?
booleen math maybe?
Thanks for any direction you can give me.

Your explanation leaves something to be desired. Can you explain how the motherboard would be hooked up normally if there were no PLC at all? Is it a commercial product with some web information? This information would be a big help.